We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond's House Inn

Save Saved
You added Vagabond's House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vagabond's House Inn
Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Call 831.624.7738
Ranked #2 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I was very happy with this Inn. Pros: VERY helpful and welcoming staff, immaculate AND dog friendly, comfortable beds, great location, on-time and delicious breakfast, wine and cheese from 4-6. Cons: Do not stay in room five if you are sensitive to "waterfall ambiance." Also, the water pressure in the shower varied from freezing to scalding depending on who else in the Inn was using the water. Still, the pros greatly outweigh the cons in my book! Would stay here again but want to leave a balanced review.

Room Tip: Stay away from #5 if you are sensitive to noise from waterfall/fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    54
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
175
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

Just left Vagabond's House and had a great 3 night stay. Room 10 was perfect for us. Beautiful courtyard, nice complimentary wine & cheese each evening, and nice breakfasts. Breakfasts were simple but came with nice extra fruit (berries and fresh cream, or bowl of kiwi and blueberries) and the pastries were amazing! Had a bear claw that was so good it should have been illegal!!!!!!! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

It is like staying in an old friend's guest house! Warm, inviting, charming, full of things that seem familiar! A decanter of sherry and fresh fruit welcomes you, not to mention the fireplace, comfy beds, fireside wing chairs and a drop leaf table for breakfast - IF you decide not to eat outside on the cobblestone patio. Breakfast is hearty, selected from a great menu, and served at a time you select! The location is perfect and Randall, the manager/concierge/knower of all things, is the answer to a traveller's dream! I've stayed in a lot of B&B's but never one as warm and freindly as this!

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm - we stayed in Room 5, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My friend and I were blown away by this B&B, offering in room or courtyard breakfast. We were welcomed sincerely, given advice on finding a restaurant serving dinner late, shown to our room by the most helpful of concierges, where a complimentary decanter of sherry and a warm fire in the fireplace helped us settle in for the night. The rooms are very private and seem secluded in the garden setting of the courtyard. Beds are comfy, housekeeping was efficient, and the overall atmosphere is warm and homey. The location is on one of the main streets in Carmel, but just where the downtown ends and residential areas begin -- very quiet but close to everything Carmel has to offer. I can't stress enough how friendly and helpful the staff were -- they'll recommend restaurants, sites to see, places to avoid, and will print out maps and tickets and let you use the office computer if necessary.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge for advice, given your room preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My daughter (26) and I stayed 2 nights at the Vababond's House Inn. We kept remarking throughout our stay that this was the best B&B room we've ever experienced. Beds (a king and a twin) were luxuriously comfortable. The crystal sherry decanter in our room, the wine and cheese offering in the late afternoon, and the simple but ample breakfast tray were all bonus features of our stay. We played cards in the lovely courtyard and walked everywhere as we had generous street parking and even got a space in the Inn's own parking lot one night. In the future, we will plan our trips to Carmel based on the availability of reserving a room at the Vagabond's House Inn. Note that even though they stipulate a 3 night stay over a weekend, they do have the occasional 2 night stay available as we were able to get. You won't be able to book the 2 nights online, but call the Inn and they can over-ride the 3 night minimum stay. Worth a phone call! For the record, we stayed in Room 5 - lovely.

Room Tip: Our room faced the court yard and we enjoyed the fountain which runs all day and I think through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We came here only for one night, and we were so upset that we had to depart so soon. The reception is warm and inviting, they upgraded us to a nicer and larger suite upon check-in and every last detail has been planned specifically for your enjoyment. You decide what breakfast you would like to be delivered to you in the morning (it is delivered on china, and I had the cutest china hot cocoa mug with a matching china lid) to the complimentary sherry in your room and the nightly wine and cheese at the reception. It really is about the details here. I also enjoyed the interesting antique collections and art decorating the walls, but I really loved hearing the quiet gurgling of the fountain at night while drifting off to sleep in the luxurious bed. Such a perfect place to relax. Both attendants we had were personable and full of great advice. I'm sure we will be back one day, and you can bet we will stay more than just one night!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband, my sister and her boyfriend and I just returned from a three night stay at the Vagabond's House Inn. I could have stayed there forever, what a charming place! The staff was great, the rooms were adorable, and the location is perfect, within walking distance of all that Carmel has to offer. The added touches -- you will discover what they are -- were very much appreciated. Do not hesitate to make a reservation here, you will love it for sure.

Room Tip: Units #1 and 2 were great. but I am sure that all of the others are too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.