We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond's House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Vagabond's House Inn to your Saves list
Vagabond's House Inn
Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We recently finished another trip to Carmel. We have been visiting Carmel annually for about 30 years. This time we brought along our daughter , age 35, for a few days so she could see why we love it so much. Of course we stayed in our favorite place, The Vagabond House Inn. We love room three because it has a wonderful courtyard view and the fountain outside the window provides a soothing sound. We also love the daily Happy Hour of wine and cheese. We meet the most interesting people and share great stories. The Inn is even better since Thomas has become the manager and this time we were also impressed with Randall. They both are available to assist in any way needed. Our daughter was impressed too and now she can see why we look forward to our annual trip. I agree with the slogan that if you live in Carmel you never need to go away on a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    59
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
196
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Truly fantastic - spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, well located, lovely breakfast and friendly, professional staff who go above and beyond. Would recommend to anyone (and everyone!!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the inn- and it was wonderful. The location, the staff, the room, the garden, the breakfast and wine cheese, the guest's friendly dogs- it all exceeded our expectations!

The location is fab - close enough for walking everywhere, including the beach, but far enough removed that even though we were there over the Labor Day weekend, the area around the inn was peaceful and quiet.

Our room, room 1, was darling - immaculate, very quiet even though it faced the street. Our bed was super comfortable, with great bedding- the sitting area was just right for two- the bathroom was very nice, great soaking tub, and the little kitchenette was very convenient. We could have comfortably stayed there for a month! And a huge thumbs-up to the housekeeping staff- as I mentioned above, the room was immaculate, and they kept it immaculate each day- that's really important for us, and we really appreciated their attention to the room

The staff were very helpful - Randal and Stephanie in particular - great check in and check out process, good suggestions for dinner, and just very available, but unobtrusive. Perfect.

Carmel itself is a dream destination - great walking town, beautiful setting, gorgeous homes and gardens, a huge variety of shops and restaurants, and all the staff we interacted with, both restaurants and shops were delightful- again, our expectations were exceeded! And if you like dogs - this is the town for you!

Some standouts for us:
- Point Lobos Park - go early, lots of wild life to see! Sea lions, sea otters, seals- and great views. Probably our favorite "nature" spot we visited, and wished we had spent more time there
- Grasings - we were in town for 5 days, and went to Grasing 3 times! Delightful staff, great food and drink, and super mellow
- Em Le - even though breakfast was included in our stay, we hit this place two times for breakfast - great coffee, yummy pancakes and (traditional) french toast, and the best apple juice EVER!
- Christopher's - beautfiul spot, fabulous staff, good home cooked-like food and killer drinks
- The cheese shop at Carmel plaza - cheese and wine, need I say more?

All in all, this was one of our favorite trips, and we definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I couldn't imagine a more friendly, inspiring, and exquisite spot. Carmel's charming and boutique feel was tastefully captured in the Vagabond Inn. We had great wine and conversation each evening with guests and staff. The rooms were cozy, artistic, and spotless. And the personal touches by staff were memorable. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Wow! What a great experience. All the staff was so friendly and helpful, dropping whatever task they might be doing to assist us. Thomas was particularly wonderful, enabling our visit and generally being fun and helpful. He looked up gardens for us, checked out helpful sites, and advised us on times and reservations, offering to make them for us.

Every trip has special memories, but Thomas will stand out in our minds for this trip. He is warn, gracious and kind. He's perfect for his role at the Vagabond's House Inn.

The rooms are quaintly old, with charm and idiosyncrasy (and they are spotlessly clean). You feel at home immediately. The breakfasts are excellent with fruit purchased at the farmers markets, and the touch of sherry in the evening after a ramble in the village really hits the spot. Wine and cheese in the evenings sets the walk into dinner just perfectly. I think we could all have stayed at least another week.

Vagabonds House Inn sets the stage for how we'd really like to live. It has simple elegance, warmth and charm. It encourages lingering for long chats in front of the fireplace or in the gardens. It is a delight.

Room Tip: Just look over the website, and pick the room you want. Ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place was great, two thumbs up. Centrally located, walking distance to everything. Inn keepers very helpful, super cozy! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Such a lovely inn. Has stood the test of time - we were recommended this place by my in-laws, who stayed there some years ago. And we had a fabulous stay. We stayed as part of our honeymoon, and it was a really lovely place. The complimentary wine and cheese hour was such a lovely touch, and the room itself was really nice and clean. Also, good location. We recommend :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming English Tudor-style Bed & Breakfast Inn situated in the heart of Carmel Village, 8 blocks from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.