We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere for a snack or drinks/coffee!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Lounge

Terry's Lounge
Lincoln and 7th, Cypress Inn, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-3871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere for a snack or drinks/coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This quaint Inn's lounge and patio seating are seriously like something out of a movie. You can picture it in black & white or live it beautifully in color. The snacks are average but adequate as are the drinks. The mixologist could take a course or two, since we had two different (easy) drinks denied due to lack of knowledge. But the rest of the experience outweighed that lapse. A great place for an afternoon break from shopping or a late night after-dinner nightcap/cordial. The dinner menu is limited...but if you like what's on it, prepared well. The movie posters and trinkets are vintage and exciting! A lovely over-all experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    45
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped for a quick mid afternoon snack and were delighted by the experience. Our server was welcoming and attentive. Enjoyed the calamari, crab cakes and sweet potato fries. Well priced wine list and a good, interesting atmosphere. Can see why it is so popular.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Though the lunch menu is limited, there are some nice items to select. We both had the chicken sandwich which came with nice caramelized red onions and tasty pickles. Both the sweet potato fries and the garlic fries were great. For appetizers, we had the fried calamari in panko (one of the best) and the split pea soup.

Sitting out on the patio on a nice day with cute dogs makes this a special place.

Don't miss a stop inside to see the memorabilia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food - Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

During our trip to Carmel, we had lunch at Terry's Lounge in the Cypress Inn. This is the Inn owned by Doris Day. Although Doris didn't join us for lunch that day, we still had a wonderful time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doris Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed the history behind Terry's Bar. Terry was the son of Doris Day. The hotel is called Cyprus Inn a must for everyone to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Lounge also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Terry's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry's Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.