We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bar, but much more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Lounge

Terry's Lounge
Lincoln and 7th, Cypress Inn, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-3871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great bar, but much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Terry's Lounge at the Cypress Inn is well known, but often under-appreciated.

First, it's an excellent bar, with great cocktails and wine list, but even more important, the staff is friendly and attentive, without being too. This is a "locals" bar that also welcomes visitors. It may be the closest thing to "Cheers" that's in real life. Also, it's dog friendly. The front bar, lounge, and the courtyard are open to dogs, who are treated like guests.

Second, and often overlooked, is the food. Terry's is one of the best restaurants in Carmel–by-the-Sea. It's classy, understated, and excellent. The food is excellent, and so is the service. Lunch and dinner can be served anywhere on the ground floor of the hotel, and the back of the restaurant is dog-free, if that's important to you. Also, it has many romantic qualities.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    45
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma Ca.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to eat outdoors and listen to some music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lunch time we decided to try the Cypress Inn's Terry's Lounge because of Doris Day and to check out her memorabilia. So glad we did because I craved a burger and a beer and David, our server knew exactly what I wanted. He recommended the beer(Wookey Jack) which I loved and my wife was eyeing the BLT which he said was one of the best! We took his word and we were not disappointed! David took care of us! Great service! The food was just what we were craving! We sat outside on the patio and had a chance to listen to some music. The gal was a solo artist and she was excellent! It was so relaxing. We did not have a dog but if you do, what a wonderful place to bring your fuzzy family member and enjoy your meal. Great little spot to relax!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Really pleased we tried Terry's Lounge...great setting, great service, great food. We were sat in the back bar side which was really cosy and romantic, especially with all the fairy lights we could see outside in the courtyard. The other side of the bar was full of diners who had their dogs with them so although we love dogs, it was nice that they seated us elsewhere. Our server Franck was absolutely lovely, very friendly and polite.
The dinner menu is separated into Bites and Small Plates which is basically another way of saying Starters and Mains because the small plates actually aren't that small (the burger and chips we say on the next table is huge) but I would advise having a "bite" first if you're really hungry, although you get complimentary bread and butter too. We had the crab and mango salad which was absolutely delicious, and the Artisan Cheeses. Although these were priced at between 8 and 14 dollars a plate, the presentation is what I would expect in a much priceier restaurant. For main I had the lamb lollipops which were lovely but I had serious food envy of my husbands scallops as they were to die for. I'm quite sad we didn't discover it sooner as I'd like to go back. For the food mentioned, one desert and 2 beers between us the bill came to 100 dollars so it wasn't a cheap dinner but from what we've seen whilst here, that is typical for Carmel anyway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Upscale 'bar food' in an amazing building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were immediately smitten with the location and building. While waiting for our meal, we noticed they offer high tea service, which looked very intriguing. We will be back to try that for a relaxing afternoon. My husband says he would order has chicken sandwich again. I had the fish and chips, which was pretty good but not the best I've had. While thankful the dish wasn't greasy, the tarter sauce left much to be desired. We wouldn't order the crab cakes again but the oysters were large and fresh. Loved the patio and had a good chuckle over some of the dogs who accompanied their owners. I do wish they would have asked the one lady to do something about her dog that wouldn't quit whining. That was the only thing that distracted from the otherwise wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Super Lounge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to Terry's Lounge 3 times in a 4 day period. Very conviently located within the Cypress Inn downtown. The bartender(s) were super friendly and very good at making craft cocktails. As the property is still (partially) owned by Doris Day - the inside of the hotel and bar is packed with Doris Day memorablia - very tastefully done. And if you are a dog lover (as Doris Day is) there is a section within the bar where you can bring your pooches for Yappy Hour! Outside on the patio also. We never had dinner - but just went for the cocktails, ambiance and the friendly gregarious bartenders........Just fun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Lounge also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Terry's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry's Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.