We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Lounge

Terry's Lounge
Lincoln and 7th, Cypress Inn, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-3871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great lunch getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I am hesitant in writing this review because this is one of our go to places when the lounge is not busy mid day. We love going there for their amazing soups (made daily), sweet potato fries withering aioli as well as their calamari and hamburgers. We love sitting in the main lounge when it is not busy and linger over our food when we can ( usually though we can't eat the fries and calamari fast enough).

Love it there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    45
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Had four meals here in 24 hours.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

and each one was a home run! Starting with the afternoon tea service in the front room, then dinner in the upstairs room of the restaurant, with its Moroccan-style decor.

This dinner was fabulous as was the service....sand dabs and NY steak were cooked to perfection, served with well-prepared fresh vegetables and potatoes. But the lamb lollipops....heaven!

The complimentary breakfast buffet served in the lounge was excellent and well stocked with everything from eggs and potatoes, to pastries and fresh fruit.

Before checking out we had to try lunch there after seeing some amazing sandwiches being served. We had a superior cheeseburger with gruyere, served with sweet potato fries, and I had one of the best steak salads ever.

Whether you stay at Cypress Inn or not, Terry's is a great choice for any meal!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good thing for Darlene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have had two experiences at Terry's on a four day trip in Carmel. Fortunately for Terry's, I upgraded by rating from poor based on my disappointing experience last night to good based on the wonderful reception and service from Darlene this morning. Our service last night was slow and our server was clearly in over his head. It took about 20 minutes to get our drinks and another 20 to get the check when we were ready to go. Quite the opposite, I was greeted with a smile and attentive service this morning by Darlene. I was even more impressed that she remembered my fiancé and I are getting married today and even recommended a spot for the ceremony. Her bloody mary's hit the spot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a great dinner of the local fish, sand da (the sauce was to die for) Also enjoyed watching the dogs parade by. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“So Many Great Things to Say About Terry's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

First there is the ambiance. Located in the Cypress Inn which is a landmark in Carmel, Terry's extends from a cozy dark bar out onto one of the pleasant patios of the hotel. The drink menu has so many fun cocktails like Lemon Drop Martinis and a good selection of wines and beer. It also includes memorable factoids about old time stars like Dean Martin who advised folks not to drink and drive, don't even putt (gotta love that guy!).
We had a couple of the appetizers, crab cakes and a salad, which were excellent and are a good value. Next time, I'm going to order the sweet potato french fries which were served in a stylish paper cone. The dinner menu has something for everyone, from burgers to fish, and is also reasonably priced.
The service is polite and prompt and you are welcome to bring your well-behaved pooch to sit with you - in fact if you don't have a dog, you might want to borrow one. The staff sincerely loves dogs!
There is also entertainment in the formal living room of the hotel. The evening we were there, a jazz trio was playing in front of the fireplace.
We had a great time and will definately visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Lounge also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Terry's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry's Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.