We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Lounge

Terry's Lounge
Lincoln and 7th, Cypress Inn, Carmel, CA 93921
(831) 624-3871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a great dinner of the local fish, sand da (the sauce was to die for) Also enjoyed watching the dogs parade by. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    45
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“So Many Great Things to Say About Terry's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

First there is the ambiance. Located in the Cypress Inn which is a landmark in Carmel, Terry's extends from a cozy dark bar out onto one of the pleasant patios of the hotel. The drink menu has so many fun cocktails like Lemon Drop Martinis and a good selection of wines and beer. It also includes memorable factoids about old time stars like Dean Martin who advised folks not to drink and drive, don't even putt (gotta love that guy!).
We had a couple of the appetizers, crab cakes and a salad, which were excellent and are a good value. Next time, I'm going to order the sweet potato french fries which were served in a stylish paper cone. The dinner menu has something for everyone, from burgers to fish, and is also reasonably priced.
The service is polite and prompt and you are welcome to bring your well-behaved pooch to sit with you - in fact if you don't have a dog, you might want to borrow one. The staff sincerely loves dogs!
There is also entertainment in the formal living room of the hotel. The evening we were there, a jazz trio was playing in front of the fireplace.
We had a great time and will definately visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we ate there twice in 2 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband, son (16) and I were in Carmel for just 2 days in July 2013. We were advised to try the Cypress Inn (Terry's Lounge) for lunch and were very impressed. There was a great range of food to please our different fussy tastes and an extensive list of beers and wines to try and all in a relaxed and beautiful setting. The tables are set out in a bar area, a lobby style area and in an open courtyard.

We were in Carmel for the July 4th holiday weekend and, given how busy the the whole area was, we ended up dining again at Terry's Lounge' for dinner as well. The dinner menu did not disappoint either and there was live entertainment making for great evening out. I would definitely recommend including a visit to the Cypress Inn and Terry's Lounge if you ever get to visit Carmel by the Sea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pet Parent Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter and son in law have lived in Carmel with their 2 white fluffy doggies for 4 years. With or without the "girls," we spend many lovely evenings at the Cypress and Terry's Lounge. This past week, we enjoyed both lunch and dinner at Terry's Lounge. We are foodies and the value and quality of the food is exceptional and the prices are very reasonable for Carmel. We ate the sand dabs twice! $18 for a meal that fills up my husband (although the hamburger is divine). Wine prices are excellent and the entertainment in the livingroom attracts a very outgoing and eclectic mix of pets and their parents. Simply the friendliest place in town. Our favorite seat for dinner is the patio table by the outside fireplace. 4 greyhounds were calmly laying next to our table while we shared a bottle of Zin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Dogs allowed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I come to carmel every summer to hike. And I always come here for dinner and drinks. First night in town, I met tons of locals and their dogs. Had an amazing short rib entree and got local knowledge of the best hiking trails in big sur. friendly. Knowledgable. Dog friendly. What more could you want. Also, dinner was fantastic.

I came back the next day for drinks on the the patio. Service was top notch. Dark and stormy was delish. And dogs a plenty. I love this place so much I'm coming back with a dog so I can really fit in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Lounge also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Terry's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry's Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.