We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fair prices, tables close together” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Giovanni

Bistro Giovanni
San Carlos & 5th Ave., Carmel, CA 93923
+1 831-626-6003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 148 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: When it comes to full-flavor California-Mediterranean cuisine, just one restaurant comes to mind: Bistro Giovanni, a signature Firok Shield restaurant with exceptional food, gorgeous murals adorning the walls, and unpretentious service.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food, fair prices, tables close together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

After eating in a few of the fancier places in Carmel, we were looking for a nice, basic no-frills dinner, and Bistro Giovanni was a great answer. Service was attentive, the food was nicely prepared (I had the veal piccata, my wife had the cioppino), and the prices were quite fair for what we got. My only issue with the restaurant was that in the area where we sat the tables were quite close together, and so we heard every conversation around us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The restaurant offers great service from the outset, I was greeted and seated promptly, asked if I had a preference of where I would like to sit. The restaurant has a vast drinks menu from wines and spirits to beers and soft drinks as well as a good choice on the food menu. My order was taken quickly and my main course came out promptly after my starter which had also. The food was delicious, very homely, which an Italian meal should be, but also maintains the dining out experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Waitress was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu. She sold me the sea food special of the day in the way she described it, andf it was delicious. We were even given a free glass of port each which was a nice touch (and we looked, it was not something everybody got as some restaurants do). Two main meals, two puddings and a bottle of wine came to $99 so reasonable price for Carmel. It's straight across the road from the hog's breath pub (Clint Eastwood's pub) if you fancy a beer before or after.....we did!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at Bistro Giovanni, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so very much for this beautiful review! We are very pleased to read that you had a good experience at Bistro Giovanni! This is our goal and you have let us know that we hit the mark! Thank you again ... and please return to our restaurant the next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A nice wine list, cocktails available. Fresh bread served with a delicious garlic, herb and olive oil dip. Very friendly service. Our pasta with shrimp was outstanding. My husband's chicken piccatta was also very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Italian Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not one of the trendy places but im betting its been around a while. I had an enjoyable meal at a fair price and the server (perhaps the owner) was friendly and talkative.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at Bistro Giovanni, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We love your review, Ray. Short and to the point. Positive and encouraging! We work very hard to ensure a great experience for customers just like you. Thank you for letting us know that we got it right! We hope to see you again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Giovanni also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Bistro Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.