We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Cuisine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Giovanni

Bistro Giovanni
San Carlos & 5th Ave., Carmel, CA 93923
+1 831-626-6003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: When it comes to full-flavor California-Mediterranean cuisine, just one restaurant comes to mind: Bistro Giovanni, a signature Firok Shield restaurant with exceptional food, gorgeous murals adorning the walls, and unpretentious service.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good Italian Cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have been visiting Carmel for years. We have seen this restaurant many times, but never tried it until this visit. We were glad we did. The welcome and service were first rate. We sat at a table near the window, I think all the locals dine in the dining room! We had a view of the beautiful wall painting, with great music playing. We had bread with sundried tapenade and a salad to start, the best local sea bass of our trip and chicken piccata (good but the sea bass was better). We enjoyed the atmosphere and were treated like longterm customers! We will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We checked TA for suggestions and the previous reviews were spot on. Very pleasant atmosphere, delightful and professional staff, varied and tasty Italian menu. Very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Sand dabs were a special and were delicious. Two of us enjoyed the linguine with clams served in a noteworthy sauce. Salads were fresh and crisp. Prices were fair. I recommend it highly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Friendly Neighborhood Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Berto was our server. He was very knowledgeable of the menu. Food was very good. They allowed us to sit anywhere we wanted. Were quick to pick up empty plates and bring bread with a sundried tomato tepanade. Berth also told us of their other restaurants in town offering breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at Bistro Giovanni, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your cheery review! We are delighted to read that you had a good experience at Bistro Giovanni. Just the way we want it to be for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Friendly Environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my dinner in this restaurant. The halibut was wonderful and the service was exceptional. The wine list is very nice and the Tawney Port was great.

I would definitely put this on my list of places to go back to next time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at Bistro Giovanni, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks so much for selecting our restaurant as a place to dine while in Carmel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and will be back if ever in town again. Safe travels back to Spokane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Loved this little out of the way place. Not on Ocean, but only a block and half and a quieter street. Great Italian selections with something for everyone to choose from. We had the chicken cacciatore and the shrimp with risotto and mushrooms. The mushroom soup that came first was delicious and we wanted dessert but just couldn't find the room!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Giovanni also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Bistro Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.