We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Cuisine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Giovanni

Bistro Giovanni
San Carlos & 5th Ave., Carmel, CA 93923
+1 831-626-6003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: When it comes to full-flavor California-Mediterranean cuisine, just one restaurant comes to mind: Bistro Giovanni, a signature Firok Shield restaurant with exceptional food, gorgeous murals adorning the walls, and unpretentious service.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Italian Cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have been visiting Carmel for years. We have seen this restaurant many times, but never tried it until this visit. We were glad we did. The welcome and service were first rate. We sat at a table near the window, I think all the locals dine in the dining room! We had a view of the beautiful wall painting, with great music playing. We had bread with sundried tapenade and a salad to start, the best local sea bass of our trip and chicken piccata (good but the sea bass was better). We enjoyed the atmosphere and were treated like longterm customers! We will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    49
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We checked TA for suggestions and the previous reviews were spot on. Very pleasant atmosphere, delightful and professional staff, varied and tasty Italian menu. Very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Sand dabs were a special and were delicious. Two of us enjoyed the linguine with clams served in a noteworthy sauce. Salads were fresh and crisp. Prices were fair. I recommend it highly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Friendly Neighborhood Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Berto was our server. He was very knowledgeable of the menu. Food was very good. They allowed us to sit anywhere we wanted. Were quick to pick up empty plates and bring bread with a sundried tomato tepanade. Berth also told us of their other restaurants in town offering breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at Bistro Giovanni, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your cheery review! We are delighted to read that you had a good experience at Bistro Giovanni. Just the way we want it to be for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Friendly Environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my dinner in this restaurant. The halibut was wonderful and the service was exceptional. The wine list is very nice and the Tawney Port was great.

I would definitely put this on my list of places to go back to next time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuickSilver12, Owner at Bistro Giovanni, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks so much for selecting our restaurant as a place to dine while in Carmel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and will be back if ever in town again. Safe travels back to Spokane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Loved this little out of the way place. Not on Ocean, but only a block and half and a quieter street. Great Italian selections with something for everyone to choose from. We had the chicken cacciatore and the shrimp with risotto and mushrooms. The mushroom soup that came first was delicious and we wanted dessert but just couldn't find the room!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Giovanni also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Bistro Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.