We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Giovanni

Bistro Giovanni
San Carlos & 5th Ave., Carmel, CA 93923
+1 831-626-6003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: When it comes to full-flavor California-Mediterranean cuisine, just one restaurant comes to mind: Bistro Giovanni, a signature Firok Shield restaurant with exceptional food, gorgeous murals adorning the walls, and unpretentious service.
california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Loved this little out of the way place. Not on Ocean, but only a block and half and a quieter street. Great Italian selections with something for everyone to choose from. We had the chicken cacciatore and the shrimp with risotto and mushrooms. The mushroom soup that came first was delicious and we wanted dessert but just couldn't find the room!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    39
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Why did we wait so long to eat here?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We came with a group of 5 because of the menu, and will come again and again because of the wonderful food and service. We overlooked this place for over 35 years of coming to Carmel, but won't overlook it anymore. My prawns in curry sauce with mushroom risotto was fabulous, and the pasta carbonara eaten by my friend was equally wonderful. Great house wine, and it is cozy and friendly.
I accidentally rated their sister restaurant "da Giovanni" in Trip Advisor. Sorry, it was an honest mistake. But it is probably very good also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cozy Bistro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Well, after reading the other reviews of Bistro Giovanni, I'm wondering why our experience wasn't as awesome as it could have been. The nice thing about this place is that it was within easy walking distance from our hotel. The atmosphere is very cozy and quaint. We found our service to be slow (it wasn't even busy at the time of our visit) and the food was a bit on the bland side. My mom ordered the halibut special and she did not like ti at all. My pasta carbonara was just so-so, and my husband's chicken dish was so-so as well. It was supposed to be spicy (according to the menu description) but it wasn't. All in all, it was just average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience of our Carmel trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a wonderful meal in this restaurant on our vacation in Carmel. Having eaten in many restaurants in Carmel, I can honestly say that this was our best dining experience here! I was hoping for a very good meal as it was my husbands 50th birthday, and I wasn't disappointed. We called in and asked for our table to be held for half an hour as we wanted to get a drink right across the road in the famous ' Hogs Breath Inn'. This was not a problem for our fantastic host Dia. Our meal was so delicious, service was second to none and on mentioning that it was my husbands birthday , he was presented with some delicious cake with a candle and both he and I got complimentary sweet wine. Our three kids were given little glasses of fruit juice so we could toast my husband! I can recommend this gem of a restaurant wholeheartedly and Dia and the other staff members can take a bow. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

In a city full of great restaurants - this is clearly one of the best. Great salads, chicken Cacciatore, seafood, pasta, The service was excellent - Dia is one of the best servers ever. We will always eat here from now on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Giovanni also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Bistro Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.