We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing croissants reminiscent of Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pastries & Petals - CLOSED

Pastries & Petals
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93923
(831) 620-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing croissants reminiscent of Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was here on two consecutive mornings as they were a few blocks from where we were staying. They had beautiful looking pastries, a dog friendly patio and the most sumptuous, flaky perfect buttery textured croissants I've had since I returned from Paris 6 years ago. I had an almond one and a plain, both gave me flashbacks to a Parisian breakfast I enjoyed every day for 2 weeks while in France. The reception of the persons behind the counter seemed a bit strange, very cold but when the same person served our cappuccinos on the patio she seemed warm and friendly and loved our dogs. There must be something going on between the coworkers. In any case it certainly didn't dampen my enjoyment of these amazing croissants. They do serve more substantial food, such as quiche, after 9am but we were there too early both days to partake. Definitely worth a visit while in Carmel!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Egg sandwich was wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Both my companion and I had the egg sandwich which was wonderful! We also took some sweets to go - including a wonderful lemon bar and fantastic breakfast cookie. They have a dog friendly patio and even cooked our dog a scrambled egg. Very nice place, I recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Let because of unfriendly greeting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I think this would be a lovely place to eat but the greeting I got when they were shifting between breakfast and lunch made me feel unwelcomed. I would give them another chance in the future.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stopped for the best latte I have had in a very long while
And the cherry white chocolate bar is pretty awesome, although we could not eat it all, very sweet

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After a nice early morning walk to the beach we asked a local to recommend a breakfast place. We enjoyed our selections so much we went back the next day. Lots of locals and tourists alike seemed to be enjoying their meals and beautiful desserts!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastries & Petals also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pastries & Petals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;