We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pastries & Petals - CLOSED

Pastries & Petals
Mission Street, Carmel, CA 93923
(831) 620-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Difficult to find.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very cute little venue, and the pastries we enjoyed were very good, but I have to say that the outside sign although cute, is way too small to read from any distance. Would strongly suggest this is improved as they are just far enough away from the main street that people might turn around and give up, before finally reaching a spot that could become a favorite for a treat.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was really excited to try this place after reading reviews but while the food here was good I was so disappointed by the service. We arrived for breakfast when there was only 2 other tables in the whole place and 2 waitresses working. Apparently they were too busy to be bothered with us while the chit chatted and took forever just to acknowledge us and never returned to ask if we'd like more coffee or water, etc...I'm sure the bakery counter is fine but as a place to sit and eat, no thanks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Oh my God this is a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Firstly, use your gps or ask your conciege. Stuck in a little office plaza with parking for 3 cars, so use the meter. Worth the trip. Indoor and Outdoor Breakfast/Lunch spot that is to die for. Dogs welcome on outside patio in a beautiful setting. Had the Gruyere Mac and Cheese-Exquisite. The Chicken Rice soup is the best I have ever tasted in my 39 year plus life! I have a feeling everything on the menu is prepared with a chef's eye in mind. The young lady that owns this place is delightful. I suggest packing to go 4 bakery items. I dont waste my waistline on any mediocre bakery so believe me when i say everything I ate was to tasty and left me with a feeling why didnt i buy more for the trip back. My favorite was the peanut butter layered bar, but i am not sure the exact name so buy whatever they have there with peanut butter and you should hit on it. Very Reasonable priced for Carmel and a must do when in this beautiful "Town".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

So cute, a perfect place to have a fantastic treat! I had the apple strudel. It was amazing. You could tast the fresh lemon zest!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the bakery of choice for purchasing cupcakes for a special occasion, birthday, etc. They are delicious and the service is equally matched!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastries & Petals also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pastries & Petals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.