We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast sandwich.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Carmel

Cafe Carmel
Ocean Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-3870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Café Carmel is European style coffee house offers breakfast sandwiches and an assortment of deli products, cheeses , antipasti, soup and salads, fresh baked pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and milk shakes. We cater, too.
Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast sandwich.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

You could split one without problem. The young man that waited on us did a great job, but the oriental lady waiting on another customer had a pretty bad attitude. Very good elephant ears. Would go in just for those.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place, Awesome Pastries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This my favorite place in Carmel! My trip is never complete without having their awesome chicken panini sandwich for lunch and some pastries for dessert!
ps: their Rugula is to die for !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolate eclair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Best chocolate eclair I've ever had with a smooth, buttery filling. Too bad it was later in the evening because it would have been perfect with coffee. There were lots of yummy looking bakery treats and the vanilla bean ice cream was soft and delicious.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Poor service! Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I couldent get a refill. All of the servers were just hanging around talking not working! My food was bland and flavorless. There will ne er be a next time. Do not go here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“But it looked sooo nice.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We wanted to come here after our dinner to enjoy some pastries and coffee. A napolean and a chocolate croissant. Expecting a light and fluffy crust, our hopes were dashed when we got it to our table and it was inedible. It had been sitting in the window for perhaps...I don't know, but it couldn't be cut with a fork. They did give us our money back, but we so wanted to enjoy some pastry. Perhaps better to go early in the morning.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Carmel also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Cafe Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.