We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice campground great host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saddle Mountain RV Park

Saddle Mountain RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saddle Mountain RV Park
27625 Schulte Rd, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Sherwood, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice campground great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This RV park is clean and comfortable with beautiful view and super nice campground host! A little difficult to get to but worth it once you arrive. The campground host is very helpful with places to go, directions and bits of local advice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We only stayed one night. Yes the spaces were a little close, but you still had your privacy. The view was beautiful, the restrooms were clean, internet was good and cable TV was clear. Maren the host could not have been nicer to us to assist in our stay.
I would recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Yes it's a bit of an intelligence test trying to find the place but it's fine once you get there and we had no manoeuvring problems in our 23ft RV. Usual hook ups and rest room facilities, nice quiet location, not expensive - after all we are in Monterey / Carmel country and it suited us fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

An absolute gem of a place. A little off the beaten track and up a steep hill which is not the most welcome off climbs after 90 miles in the saddle. But well worth it. Carmel is not geared for cycle tourists needing to camp. Saddle mountain is approx 30 minutes ride out of Carmel on a reasonably wide hard shoulder but a particularly busy road. Not recommended at night / dusk.
The RV park has everything you could want, especially lovely staff, well equipped, reasonable, clean and tidy site. Views in the morning are fantastic and if you make it back along the valley road to the PCH / CA1 make sure you stop at the Wagon Wheel for breakfast - Amazing.
Thanks for a lovely stay Maren, Saddle Mountain rocks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, UT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Gorgeous views, oak trees draped with Spanish moss, nice tent sites, picnic tables, playground, nice pool, flush toilets, hot showers. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I don't know why people are so freaked by the road up to Saddle Mountain. It's not that bad (see my photos) and it's so worth it as this park has the most fantastic views of Carmel Valley. The people are really friendly too...so the one person who had a problem must really have hit an off day. I find the community in this park friendly, helpful and the park itself is centrally located to Carmel, Monterey and Big Sur. And, the staff in the park will help you figure out the local activities if you just ask. The pool will open in June...and I can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

What can I say about Saddle Mountain RV/Camping Park in Carmel Valley?

We've RV'd here numerous times- each time gets better than the last. The breathtaking valley views, the convenient location (all within striking distance: HW1, the beach, Aquarium, 17 Mile, Carmel-by-the-Sea, Big Sur, Garland State Park, restaurants, and grocery stores), pet friendly (must be on leash), hiking trails, nice clean bathrooms, hot showers, free Wi-Fi, and plenty of parking. Our 4 year old especially enjoyed swimming in the pool, playing badminton and horseshoes, exploring on her bike, and nature walks.

The only disappointments were not being able to have a fire-pit wood campfire (only propane), a very chilly "heated" pool, and no on-site laundry facility. However, the pleasant staff made-up for it by being so professional and accommodating; they referred us to local launderettes within 1.5 miles. Lastly, the one-lane bridge looks precarious- it's safe. Just take your time crossing it and note that the left turn up the hill to the RV park will sneak-up on you. If you're towing, it might be a good idea to unhook prior to turning onto Schulte Rd. while you're on Carmel Valley Rd.

As world travelers and having lived in other countries, I must say this is one of our favorite places on earth.

Cheers and happy travels!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saddle Mountain RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle Mountain RV Park

Address: 27625 Schulte Rd, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty lodging in Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddle Mountain RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saddle Mountain RV Park to your Saves list