We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saddle Mountain RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saddle Mountain RV Park
Save
You added Saddle Mountain RV Park to your Saves list
27625 Schulte Rd, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We only stayed one night. Yes the spaces were a little close, but you still had your privacy. The view was beautiful, the restrooms were clean, internet was good and cable TV was clear. Maren the host could not have been nicer to us to assist in our stay.
I would recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
369 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Yes it's a bit of an intelligence test trying to find the place but it's fine once you get there and we had no manoeuvring problems in our 23ft RV. Usual hook ups and rest room facilities, nice quiet location, not expensive - after all we are in Monterey / Carmel country and it suited us fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

An absolute gem of a place. A little off the beaten track and up a steep hill which is not the most welcome off climbs after 90 miles in the saddle. But well worth it. Carmel is not geared for cycle tourists needing to camp. Saddle mountain is approx 30 minutes ride out of Carmel on a reasonably wide hard shoulder but a particularly busy road. Not recommended at night / dusk.
The RV park has everything you could want, especially lovely staff, well equipped, reasonable, clean and tidy site. Views in the morning are fantastic and if you make it back along the valley road to the PCH / CA1 make sure you stop at the Wagon Wheel for breakfast - Amazing.
Thanks for a lovely stay Maren, Saddle Mountain rocks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, UT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Gorgeous views, oak trees draped with Spanish moss, nice tent sites, picnic tables, playground, nice pool, flush toilets, hot showers. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I don't know why people are so freaked by the road up to Saddle Mountain. It's not that bad (see my photos) and it's so worth it as this park has the most fantastic views of Carmel Valley. The people are really friendly too...so the one person who had a problem must really have hit an off day. I find the community in this park friendly, helpful and the park itself is centrally located to Carmel, Monterey and Big Sur. And, the staff in the park will help you figure out the local activities if you just ask. The pool will open in June...and I can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

What can I say about Saddle Mountain RV/Camping Park in Carmel Valley?

We've RV'd here numerous times- each time gets better than the last. The breathtaking valley views, the convenient location (all within striking distance: HW1, the beach, Aquarium, 17 Mile, Carmel-by-the-Sea, Big Sur, Garland State Park, restaurants, and grocery stores), pet friendly (must be on leash), hiking trails, nice clean bathrooms, hot showers, free Wi-Fi, and plenty of parking. Our 4 year old especially enjoyed swimming in the pool, playing badminton and horseshoes, exploring on her bike, and nature walks.

The only disappointments were not being able to have a fire-pit wood campfire (only propane), a very chilly "heated" pool, and no on-site laundry facility. However, the pleasant staff made-up for it by being so professional and accommodating; they referred us to local launderettes within 1.5 miles. Lastly, the one-lane bridge looks precarious- it's safe. Just take your time crossing it and note that the left turn up the hill to the RV park will sneak-up on you. If you're towing, it might be a good idea to unhook prior to turning onto Schulte Rd. while you're on Carmel Valley Rd.

As world travelers and having lived in other countries, I must say this is one of our favorite places on earth.

Cheers and happy travels!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I love this place, clean bathrooms and showers quite at night, property is beautiful and well maintained, and they have a pool! I stay here almost every weekend in the wedding months ( i am a wedding photographer) tres belle place and staff. I am so lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.7 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
4.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#19 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddle Mountain RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle Mountain RV Park

Address: 27625 Schulte Rd, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddle Mountain RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.