We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le St Tropez

Le St Tropez
5 Dolors Ocean, Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8977
Website
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean & 7th Ave.
Description: Le St. Tropez expresses unique warmth that is the culture found on the Coast and in the Hills of Provence. A cuisine much different than that found anywhere else in France. Enjoy Southern modern and classic French specialties in a family style, with gracious portions, tableside carvings and flambe. Gather with friends and neighbors to relax, share, and enjoy the "Cuisine of the Sun."
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food & Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Enjoyed a delicious dinner here on recent trip. The mussels, salmon pizza & duck are incredible. 5 star all the way. The prix fix dinner provides an affordable option in an area known for overpriced restaurants. There are also many gluten free options for those on special diets.
Great martinis and local wines are also featured.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    121
    46
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Quaint and delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice date night at Le Saint Tropez. Food was verygood, the service was quick and efficient and the restaurant was lively but not distracting. We will definitely go back. Thanks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALOHA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Group Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Attended a large dinner gathering that reserved the entire restaurant. Menu was limited but food was excellent and the service fantastic. I enjoyed the filet of Sea Bass which was perfectly cooked. Considering that they were serving about 70 people all at once I was pleasantly surprised at the freshness and quality of the food. Everyone at our table was very pleased with their choices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smhw31@yahoo.com
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Recent visit to Carmel found a gem... Will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Le St Tropez is understated in appearance but the food is not. I started with mussels which were a highlight of the meal. Clean, refreshing and the saffron broth subtle yet satisfying. Finishing off with the swordfish (I know the mercury count but oh so worth it) I was pleased with the tender meatiness and the provencal seasoning. Honestly I inhaled the swordfish it was just that good. Carmel is a lovely town with many dining options, you will not be disappointed if you make Le St Tropez your next stop. Regarding the speed of service, I found it to be comparable to Europe/Paris I assumed that is what they were going for. They let you sit at leisure and you request the check once you are ready to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Carmel dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Dinner was average. My wife's dinner of scallops was under cooked and was warm not hot. Must have been sitting
Waiting to be served. Cost was high food and service was average.
Will not return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le St Tropez also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Le St Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le St Tropez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.