We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le St Tropez

Le St Tropez
Dolores Between Ocean & 7th, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-8977
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le St Tropez is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $16 - $46
Cuisines: European, French, Mediterranean, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean & 7th Ave.
Description: Le St. Tropez expresses the unique warmth that is the culture found along the French Riviera. Taste the exquisite flavors of the region's bountiful cuisine from a menu that celebrates the seasons. Experience the charm of Southern France in the distinctly Provencal dining room or alfresco, nestled among the fountain, flowers and hummingbirds of a hidden garden, the Jardin des Artistes. Enjoy convivial ambiance and gracious service by candlelight or by starlight... •Sip cocktails fireside, indoors or out •Heated garden dining + cozy blankets •Dog friendly + Doggy menu too! Full Premium Bar. Open for Lunch and Dinner daily. Available for Private Events with Customized Menus.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food & Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Enjoyed a delicious dinner here on recent trip. The mussels, salmon pizza & duck are incredible. 5 star all the way. The prix fix dinner provides an affordable option in an area known for overpriced restaurants. There are also many gluten free options for those on special diets.
Great martinis and local wines are also featured.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    56
    25
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Quaint and delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice date night at Le Saint Tropez. Food was verygood, the service was quick and efficient and the restaurant was lively but not distracting. We will definitely go back. Thanks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALOHA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Group Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Attended a large dinner gathering that reserved the entire restaurant. Menu was limited but food was excellent and the service fantastic. I enjoyed the filet of Sea Bass which was perfectly cooked. Considering that they were serving about 70 people all at once I was pleasantly surprised at the freshness and quality of the food. Everyone at our table was very pleased with their choices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smhw31@yahoo.com
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Recent visit to Carmel found a gem... Will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Le St Tropez is understated in appearance but the food is not. I started with mussels which were a highlight of the meal. Clean, refreshing and the saffron broth subtle yet satisfying. Finishing off with the swordfish (I know the mercury count but oh so worth it) I was pleased with the tender meatiness and the provencal seasoning. Honestly I inhaled the swordfish it was just that good. Carmel is a lovely town with many dining options, you will not be disappointed if you make Le St Tropez your next stop. Regarding the speed of service, I found it to be comparable to Europe/Paris I assumed that is what they were going for. They let you sit at leisure and you request the check once you are ready to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Carmel dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Dinner was average. My wife's dinner of scallops was under cooked and was warm not hot. Must have been sitting
Waiting to be served. Cost was high food and service was average.
Will not return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le St Tropez also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Le St Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le St Tropez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.