We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le St Tropez

Le St Tropez
Dolores Avenue, Between Ocean & Seventh, Carmel, CA 93923
18316248977
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le St Tropez is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean & 7th Ave.
Description: Simple Escape...expressing the unique warmth that is the culture found along the French Riviera, enjoy the exquisite flavors of the region's bountiful cuisine from a menu that celebrates the seasons. Experience the charm of Southern France in the distinctly French Provençal dining room or al fresco nestled among the fountain, flowers and hummingbirds of a hidden garden, the "Jardin des Artistes." Enjoy convivial ambiance and gracious service by candlelight or by starlight...Sip cocktails fireside, indoors or out. *"Heated" garden dining + cozy blankets * Dog friendly + Doggy menu too! * Jardin des Artistes in an adult dining space - Families with children are welcome indoors. **Monday - Thursday entire evening, enjoy our Sip + Savor Prix Fixe menu plus one glass of complimentary house red or white wine $45. Prix Fixe menu is not available with other promotions and not available during Holidays.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Celebrate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Chef Jean knows how to cook. His sauces are perfect. Went there for a special birthday this week and was treated like VIP. Most memorable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    79
    30
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good, small French restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently had dinner with friends and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and service.
The rack of lamb was outstanding as was the swordfish (catch of the day). Appetizers were authentically French and also very good. We all thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Le St. Tropez.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We sat for a very long time waiting for a waiter/waitress. Finally had to ask for someone to bring some water and help us. We were virtually ignored. Ironically there were extra staff just standing around. Finally got some service for our table of 2. Sadly there were only 6 customers in the entire place. In fairness, the wine and cheese was good. Plenty of room for improvement.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I have traveled to many places around the world and experienced many different types of cuisine in many different settings. This was by far one of the best. We had no reservation on a Sunday evening and they graciously took us with no hassle for the room being on the smaller side. I also have a gluten allergy which many restaurants have absolutely no idea what this even means, however almost every single item on their menu accommodated my needs! We each had a glass of wine, with our bread for the table (mine was gluten free, freshly made, light and airy, and delicious) while we waited for our escargot-my first time ever. We then had two pizzas on gluten free pizza dough, one with goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes; the other with anchovies and fresh tomato slices. Everything we tasted here was absolutely delicious and was obviously freshly made. We waited longer than a chain restaurant for our food, but we had no complaints as we prefer our food fresh and wait slightly longer, than it being nuked in a microwave and speedy. The service was incredible as each of the 4 servers that night and the hostess checked on us throughout the meal. Even though there was a glass pitcher at our table to refill our water ourselves, we never once touched it as the servers refilled our glasses as they walked by without us asking for it. Such a pleasant experience and we highly recommend this eatery if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The table by the BAR!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Not the suggested location for dinner but as fate would have it the first was too busy and did not have much in the way of style or character. We found this by accident, what an accident. We were greeted at the door and yes they had a table.

We were escorted to a four top by the bar and the fireplace. We found it to be a little wobbly and we ask to let them fix the issue. I said NO absolutely NO, that it was perfect next to both the bar and the fireplace. It was part of the character of the restaurant and would not let them change it.

The meal excellent, the Chef was entertaining and the food exquisite. You pick the appetizer and the entree but be sure to have the table side Crapes.

A great place to enjoy ambiance, great service and an inspiring Chef.

Ask for the Wobble Table by the Bar and Fireplace, just little special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le St Tropez also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Le St Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le St Tropez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.