We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weak” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le St Tropez

Le St Tropez
5 Dolors Ocean, Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-8977
Website
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean & 7th Ave.
Description: Le St. Tropez expresses unique warmth that is the culture found on the Coast and in the Hills of Provence. A cuisine much different than that found anywhere else in France. Enjoy Southern modern and classic French specialties in a family style, with gracious portions, tableside carvings and flambe. Gather with friends and neighbors to relax, share, and enjoy the "Cuisine of the Sun."
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Weak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We sat for a very long time waiting for a waiter/waitress. Finally had to ask for someone to bring some water and help us. We were virtually ignored. Ironically there were extra staff just standing around. Finally got some service for our table of 2. Sadly there were only 6 customers in the entire place. In fairness, the wine and cheese was good. Plenty of room for improvement.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    121
    46
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I have traveled to many places around the world and experienced many different types of cuisine in many different settings. This was by far one of the best. We had no reservation on a Sunday evening and they graciously took us with no hassle for the room being on the smaller side. I also have a gluten allergy which many restaurants have absolutely no idea what this even means, however almost every single item on their menu accommodated my needs! We each had a glass of wine, with our bread for the table (mine was gluten free, freshly made, light and airy, and delicious) while we waited for our escargot-my first time ever. We then had two pizzas on gluten free pizza dough, one with goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes; the other with anchovies and fresh tomato slices. Everything we tasted here was absolutely delicious and was obviously freshly made. We waited longer than a chain restaurant for our food, but we had no complaints as we prefer our food fresh and wait slightly longer, than it being nuked in a microwave and speedy. The service was incredible as each of the 4 servers that night and the hostess checked on us throughout the meal. Even though there was a glass pitcher at our table to refill our water ourselves, we never once touched it as the servers refilled our glasses as they walked by without us asking for it. Such a pleasant experience and we highly recommend this eatery if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The table by the BAR!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Not the suggested location for dinner but as fate would have it the first was too busy and did not have much in the way of style or character. We found this by accident, what an accident. We were greeted at the door and yes they had a table.

We were escorted to a four top by the bar and the fireplace. We found it to be a little wobbly and we ask to let them fix the issue. I said NO absolutely NO, that it was perfect next to both the bar and the fireplace. It was part of the character of the restaurant and would not let them change it.

The meal excellent, the Chef was entertaining and the food exquisite. You pick the appetizer and the entree but be sure to have the table side Crapes.

A great place to enjoy ambiance, great service and an inspiring Chef.

Ask for the Wobble Table by the Bar and Fireplace, just little special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ended up here by default and were pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our first choice for dinner turned out to be a total bust and we walked around town trying to find and alternative. This exceeded our expectations. We started with the salmon en brioche with arugula, chevre and caramelized onions. This was one of the best appetizers I have ever had. We shared a filet with their bearnaise suce and seasonal veggies. The sauce was amazing. A special thanks to Sergio, our waiter. He was fun and attentive without intruding. A worthwhile visit for anyone in Carmel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gluten free heaven in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Le St. Tropez. Lovely spot in the heart of Carmel. Food was great. Best gluten free pizza my kids have ever had. Virtually the entire menu could be made gluten free, and still tasty. Our server was very friendly and attentive, suggesting spots in the area to visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le St Tropez also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Le St Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le St Tropez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.