We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hikes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel River State Beach

Carmel River State Beach
US Higway 1, Carmel, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 attractions in Carmel
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Monterey, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hikes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very accessible and easy hiking. I don't walk so well and this seemed very easy. Beautiful and varied fauna and flora. Great bird-watching!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This beach is less frequented than the city beach - we feel like it's our "private secret." Beautiful clean sand, rocks, tide pools and water fowl.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Family Day in the Sun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I live here and it is always a treat for my husband and I to take the kids here! We bring a picnic lunch, our kites and the sunscreen. There is no shade so you may want an umbrella or tent if you need it. There are bathrooms by the parking lot that are large for changing, etc. There is a little lagoon area for the little ones to splash in and many enjoy kayaking in this area, too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Get up early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to enjoy your morning walk or just sit and drink a cup of coffee as you watch! Beautiful locale. Easy walk from main shopping area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the view of the Carmel River is picture perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

great place to paint plein air love the vistas! Great view of the Carmel river reaching the sea. You can enjoy the pristine beach in the fresh water or hit the beach side of Carmel. Lots of space, some paring in a lot at Stewart's cove.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel River State Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel River State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel River State Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carmel River State Beach to your Saves list