We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit outside if you can” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basil

Basil
San Carlos Ave between Ocean and 7th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 126 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sit outside if you can”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a great meal at Basil and were happy to sit outside under the heat lamps on a brisk day. We ordered the lamb meatballs, my boyfriend had the short ribs (highly recommend) for his main and I had the Boar Sausages. Service was friendly and on top of things, the only negative is that some of the tables outside are a little too close to each other. Luckly we had friendly neighbors but literally we could have all been sitting at the same table.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    83
    37
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't meet our expectation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We were referred to this restaurant from the staff at the Carmel Country Inn. Upon arriving we were set at a table that seemed to be an afterthought, it was placed outside of the patio perimeters. Our waitress was good when she came to our table, but her visits were too infrequent. We arrived at 7:00pm and left at 9:30. Food was only so so. Would not recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a great place! The food is all local and I thought reasonably priced. It's a higher end restaurant, but the dress is casual. I had the squid linguine, a friend had the boar sausage, and everyone else had the short ribs. The ribs didn't need a knife, they were so good. My linguine was awesome. We always had our water filled, but we had to request ice. That was the only odd thing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice but unremarkable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a nice little restaurant with good, if not unremarkable food. What was notable was - the really pleasant helpful server, a very happy and vibrant lady. It was a lovely place to eat and relax after a long drive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fresh, Organic, Local Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are looking for the epitome of locovore, this is the place. They pride themselves with good reason on their fresh, healthy, organic food and superb preparation. We only had lunch there, but were delighted with our asparagus soup (like a puree almost) and fish. Friendly service, reasonable prices, a great place to dine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.