We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basil

Basil
San Carlos Ave between Ocean and 7th Ave, Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Hayward, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a great place! The food is all local and I thought reasonably priced. It's a higher end restaurant, but the dress is casual. I had the squid linguine, a friend had the boar sausage, and everyone else had the short ribs. The ribs didn't need a knife, they were so good. My linguine was awesome. We always had our water filled, but we had to request ice. That was the only odd thing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    73
    34
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice but unremarkable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a nice little restaurant with good, if not unremarkable food. What was notable was - the really pleasant helpful server, a very happy and vibrant lady. It was a lovely place to eat and relax after a long drive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fresh, Organic, Local Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are looking for the epitome of locovore, this is the place. They pride themselves with good reason on their fresh, healthy, organic food and superb preparation. We only had lunch there, but were delighted with our asparagus soup (like a puree almost) and fish. Friendly service, reasonable prices, a great place to dine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Every aspect was top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food, staff, location, setting and convenient location made for a perfect stop. My waife was equally impressed and loved the menu selections. Our stay was short but would of liked to come back again if time permitted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cozy spot for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We found Basil at the last minute and were able to get a table. Staff was attentive and welcoming. We sat inside, but there's a great little outdoor area as well. Food was delicious and well presented. It happened to be our last dinner this vacation trip, and it was a great choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.