We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Belle

Carmel Belle
Corner of Ocean & San Carlos, Carmel, CA 93921
831 624 1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very quality food, nice service, great coffee! Only complaint--and it's not really a fair complaint--is that they don't do traditional brunchy foods, and that for the amt/quality of the food, it IS a little pricey. But they were wonderful about getting us a bowl of cut-up berries for our son, and the ingredients were clearly top-notch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quick lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

It is very hard to find but worth it! I had the ham, asparagus and MoZerella panini which was fresh and lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We used to like going there, but over the past year it has become super busy, with long lines and sparse seating every time we wanted to eat there, so we have stopped going there.

I also didn't like how they up charge for little things like $4 for extra tomatoes!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best green eggs in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I tried the green eggs and ham mainly because of good reviews and as a gimmick for my young daughter, who like the Dr. Suess story. The poached egg dish had prosciutto and an arugula-herb-based puree, which would explain a slightly bitter kick. It was very good, but not amazing. Those with larger appetites will probably want to order something extra to complement this dish.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Simple, unpretentious, DELICIOUS! and one of the top in the entire area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wifey and I were lucky enough to find this unbelievable addition to the innumerable Carmel dining experiences.

It may be disconcerting to walk into a small, mini-mall-type-space and find tables spotted around a diminutive counter, but you can chalk this up to the foodie revolution in how business is done. Along the lines of the food cart movement, a smaller counter like this has lower overhead and operating costs so it's either: simple fine dining, or high end counter food.

The point is, the money saved on the labor and cost of real restaurant is put back into the food... and oh the food. oh. oh oh oh oh oh oh.

It's a rare menu... and there have been so many reviews I can't imagine this being important - everything we ate was exceptional. But what we ate is secondary to the overall menu. It was delightful.

The real promise of a place this diverse is that you could come in for any number of wonderful "boards" from veggie to pate and charcuterie. It's an incredible treat. From a quick snack to a divine meal..... it's got you covered.

THIS IS PROBABLY THE BEST PLACE IN CARMEL, *for the money*....
.... for high end foodie delight.

Honestly, it makes me miss living there simply because I could imagine diving into the menu headlong.... there isn't one thing on it that didn't sound epic.

Here's Carmel Belle's menu... look for yourself. http://www.carmelbelle.c…

and enjoy. This is my first recommendation for your stay in Carmel. There are the pricey dinner joints you will undoubtedly experience.. that are wonderful. Do not miss this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Belle also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Belle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.