We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best green eggs in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Belle

Carmel Belle
Corner of Ocean & San Carlos, Carmel, CA 93921
831 624 1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best green eggs in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I tried the green eggs and ham mainly because of good reviews and as a gimmick for my young daughter, who like the Dr. Suess story. The poached egg dish had prosciutto and an arugula-herb-based puree, which would explain a slightly bitter kick. It was very good, but not amazing. Those with larger appetites will probably want to order something extra to complement this dish.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    44
    29
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Simple, unpretentious, DELICIOUS! and one of the top in the entire area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wifey and I were lucky enough to find this unbelievable addition to the innumerable Carmel dining experiences.

It may be disconcerting to walk into a small, mini-mall-type-space and find tables spotted around a diminutive counter, but you can chalk this up to the foodie revolution in how business is done. Along the lines of the food cart movement, a smaller counter like this has lower overhead and operating costs so it's either: simple fine dining, or high end counter food.

The point is, the money saved on the labor and cost of real restaurant is put back into the food... and oh the food. oh. oh oh oh oh oh oh.

It's a rare menu... and there have been so many reviews I can't imagine this being important - everything we ate was exceptional. But what we ate is secondary to the overall menu. It was delightful.

The real promise of a place this diverse is that you could come in for any number of wonderful "boards" from veggie to pate and charcuterie. It's an incredible treat. From a quick snack to a divine meal..... it's got you covered.

THIS IS PROBABLY THE BEST PLACE IN CARMEL, *for the money*....
.... for high end foodie delight.

Honestly, it makes me miss living there simply because I could imagine diving into the menu headlong.... there isn't one thing on it that didn't sound epic.

Here's Carmel Belle's menu... look for yourself. http://www.carmelbelle.c…

and enjoy. This is my first recommendation for your stay in Carmel. There are the pricey dinner joints you will undoubtedly experience.. that are wonderful. Do not miss this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We has breakfast here everyday. Great green eggs and ham and avocado toast. Hard to find - inside a small art complex - but well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For foodies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very unassuming and hard to find. Fancy menu. My friend had the polenta and said the eggs tasted liked they'd raised the chickens on chocolate & champagne (in other words amazing!) and I had a bacon & cheese sandwich with a side of truffled mushrooms thrown on top.
You need to order at the counter and seat yourself. Girl at the counter was quirky and it was fun listening to her interact with the regulars while we were eating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love this place! Best place to eat in all of Carmel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I loved this place so much that I went back the next day!
The ingredients are fresh, local, and really good quality. Next, they put them together in the best ways, making your breakfast/lunch/brunch delicious!
This is a place that is not to be missed... especially if you get something you can put their garlic hot sauce on!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Belle also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula

Been to Carmel Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Belle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.