We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place! Best place to eat in all of Carmel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Belle

Carmel Belle
Corner of Ocean & San Carlos, Carmel, CA 93921
831 624 1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love this place! Best place to eat in all of Carmel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I loved this place so much that I went back the next day!
The ingredients are fresh, local, and really good quality. Next, they put them together in the best ways, making your breakfast/lunch/brunch delicious!
This is a place that is not to be missed... especially if you get something you can put their garlic hot sauce on!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    39
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Enjoyed it very much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

While in town, we had breakfast at this place. They have a delicious tomato soup with goat cheese to top it off. Did enjoy it with a sandwich to go along with it. So if youre looking to grab something quick and good, I would recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“As a local, hands down my fav in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We go here ridiculously often because the food is ridiculously good. We live in Carmel and know the restaurant scene very well. When we travel, I miss it. They have the most amazingly fresh, organically and locally sourced food in the entire town of Carmel. It's strictly a breakfast, lunch or afternoon snack kind of place. If it served dinner, we'd be in real trouble -- we'd never cook! (With that said, it would be awesome if they did). But the real mark of this gem are the owners Jay and Chloe, who are hands-on all the way; they obviously take great pride in what they do and never take shortcuts. They have a family, and to do it right, they can't be there all day and all night, and I respect them for that.

Breakfast favs of ours are the green eggs and ham, polenta (trust me, try and you'll be converted) -- I prefer mine with egg on top only but all the trimmings are great too. Lunchtime favs are the avocado on toast (again, trust me; you won't be disappointed), vegie sandwich, meatloaf sandwich, roasted tomato soup, any of their daily specials, argula & hearts of palm salad. Today hubby tried the ham, pear & fontina sandwich and I thought it was the best ham & cheese I'd ever had.

It's in a funky little arcade called Doud Arcade on San Carlos between Ocean and 7th in downtown Carmel. It's order at the counter and they bring you the food -- extremely good waitstaff, always with a smile. Not exactly quiet and romantic if that's what you're looking for, but the airy space is lovely and doggies are welcome in certain sections too. In nice weather you can also try an outside table.

Once you go, I promise you'll keep coming back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stopped for breakfast and we're very happy with our choices. The menu isn't very large, but has some very interesting items. Everything was hot, the guy taking orders very chatty and fun. You order at the counter and the food is delivered to your table. Obviously, locals stop a lot for coffee, as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole Wy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in downtown Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

On a recent trip to Carmel we stopped in here a number of times and were never disappointed! The staff is super friendly, efficient and happy to serve while the food is even better! All options seemed to take advantage of the high quality fruits and vegetables available in this region. There were also a number of good wheat free items on the menu which is hard to find at small cafe's. I'll certainly be back on my next visit to Carmel!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Belle also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Belle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.