We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine French dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar

Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar
Mission Street, (SW Between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Ave. and 7th
Description: Proprietors Andre Lemaire and Elizabeth Ketler want to share a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Chef Andre Lemaire prepares authentic French Bistro Cuisine.The wine bar opens at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner will be served from 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. nightly. Reservations are recommended at the restaurant, telephone 831-626-7880. We are open for lunch from 11:30 until 2:30 Wednesday through Sunday.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine French dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you enjoy the more country style (hardy but delicate) French cooking, this is the place. Although a little pricy, the food and service were very good. They have an extensive wine selection from both California and France.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    56
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Cororado, USA
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Expensive, But Pretty Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I visited this restaurant with two other couples. We appreciate that lots of things in Carmel are upscale, but a restaurant can be upscale without being pretentious. I suspect that our experience was colored by the attitude of our waiter. He was clearly trying to steer us to the higher end of the wine list, an approach that always irritates me. The wine was good, but we've had its equal at half the price in other places. The food was good, but definitely not outstanding. Not one of the six at our table raved about their meal. We probably won't return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Yummy Wine, Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was the last stop on our dinner crawl and it was fantastic! We asked the chef to guide us through some of his food along with wine. He was great! It was late and during the week so we really lucked out to get his attention. Normally you need a reservation, so call ahead. Everything we sampled (we were sharing with our son and his girlfriend) was yummy! This is one of those restaurants where you want to take your time and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely French Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

If you like French food, this is your place. The food was great-- very French and very rich. The service was a little off but I confess that I was with a large group of 18 people which was a challenge. My biggest complaint is that the waiter couldn't keep our wine glasses full-- very strange. Overall, however, it was a cute and charming place with great food and a nice chef who came over and said hello. Will definitely go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had dinner at Andre Bouche for the second time in December, and the unprofessional maitre d'hote was just appalling both times.

We had a reservation for 8:30PM, and I called to make sure they were honoring the times, as the previous visit we had had to wait for so long. They told me they were running 10-15 minutes late, so I waited to arrive at 8:45PM. When we arrived there were empty but not cleaned tables, and the maitre d was chit chatting with a guest - which lasted for 10 minutes. When we inquired of a waiter as to whether we could be seated, he indicated the maitre d was the only person who could do that. She was just so unprofessional and clearly not service oriented that all the guests waiting (2 other couples) were also amazed and put off.

The service by the wait staff was good. We had the pear salad (B), the muscles (A), and the steak (B). They are getting by because the food is good quality.

But we were so put off by the terrible experience and the waits of 30 minutes both times, that we had determined never to return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.