We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Yummy Wine, Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar

Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar
Mission Street, (SW Between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Ave. and 7th
Description: Proprietors Andre Lemaire and Elizabeth Ketler want to share a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Chef Andre Lemaire prepares authentic French Bistro Cuisine.The wine bar opens at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner will be served from 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. nightly. Reservations are recommended at the restaurant, telephone 831-626-7880. We are open for lunch from 11:30 until 2:30 Wednesday through Sunday.
Andover, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Yummy Wine, Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was the last stop on our dinner crawl and it was fantastic! We asked the chef to guide us through some of his food along with wine. He was great! It was late and during the week so we really lucked out to get his attention. Normally you need a reservation, so call ahead. Everything we sampled (we were sharing with our son and his girlfriend) was yummy! This is one of those restaurants where you want to take your time and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    177
    50
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely French Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

If you like French food, this is your place. The food was great-- very French and very rich. The service was a little off but I confess that I was with a large group of 18 people which was a challenge. My biggest complaint is that the waiter couldn't keep our wine glasses full-- very strange. Overall, however, it was a cute and charming place with great food and a nice chef who came over and said hello. Will definitely go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had dinner at Andre Bouche for the second time in December, and the unprofessional maitre d'hote was just appalling both times.

We had a reservation for 8:30PM, and I called to make sure they were honoring the times, as the previous visit we had had to wait for so long. They told me they were running 10-15 minutes late, so I waited to arrive at 8:45PM. When we arrived there were empty but not cleaned tables, and the maitre d was chit chatting with a guest - which lasted for 10 minutes. When we inquired of a waiter as to whether we could be seated, he indicated the maitre d was the only person who could do that. She was just so unprofessional and clearly not service oriented that all the guests waiting (2 other couples) were also amazed and put off.

The service by the wait staff was good. We had the pear salad (B), the muscles (A), and the steak (B). They are getting by because the food is good quality.

But we were so put off by the terrible experience and the waits of 30 minutes both times, that we had determined never to return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never a Disappointment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We started with the trio of house made country pate, rabbit terrine and duck rillettes. Some of the very best we've ever had! (I am salivating as I write this!) The seafood risotto was excellent (with the exception of the taste of the three mussels) and perfectly prepared. The sea scallops over a vegetable puree were also very good. The apple tart finished a very satisfying meal. The extensive wine list does include a few good affordable options for those of us with less deep pockets. The wait staff is pleasant and accommodating. Can be noisy and somewhat chaotic depending on where one is seated in the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best French bistro in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

From the lengthy but amazing wine list, to the spectacular French fare, to the phenomenal individual service provided by the wonderful staff, this place a was gem. Beef carpaccio, duck, creme brûlée & escargots were all top notch. However, the mussels!!! Wow! Best I've ever had!
I would highly recommend it to anyone seeking great French food at a very reasonable price. Excellent dining experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula

Been to Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.