We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine waiter appalling attitude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar

Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar
Mission Street, (SW Between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-7880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Ave. and 7th
Description: Proprietors Andre Lemaire and Elizabeth Ketler want to share a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Chef Andre Lemaire prepares authentic French Bistro Cuisine.The wine bar opens at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner will be served from 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. nightly. Reservations are recommended at the restaurant, telephone 831-626-7880. We are open for lunch from 11:30 until 2:30 Wednesday through Sunday.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wine waiter appalling attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel that we were staying in. All started well, good atmosphere and menu lovely. The wine list is a book and to be honest intimidating. We both enjoy our wine but do not profess to be experts on the subject, so we chose a £40 bottle of red. The wine waiter came over and told us that particular wine was not available... Instead of using his common sense and inviting us to choose an alternative at roughly the same price and and advising us (after all he is the expert) he said in a big booming voice 'well how much would you like to spend, as its different for everyone' it was so embarrassing and people looked at us sympathetically as if we could not afford to be there. It was very demeaning to say the least and ruined the evening. He totally lacked decorum. I cannot rate the food highly enough, but was very unhappy by the way we were made to feel. As a travel writer, I will not be writing a favourable review.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    56
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Andre's earns its high rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Andre's is definitely one of the finest places to eat in Carmel. The special was an exquisite fig sauce over a beautifully cooked duck breast elegantly plated. The other entree at the table was scallops with fettuccine. The scallops tasted great and were perfectly prepared. The fettuccine were cooked perfectly so that they were still just a little al dente and then they were presented in a long roll on the plate (sort of looked like a sushi roll). We waited the 15 or so minutes to have the molten chocolate cake and it was worth the wait. The Sandeman 20 year old tawny port was the perfect drink to sip while waiting and to have with the molten chocolate cake. The surroundings are elegant and the wait person was attentive, not only to our table but to the other tables also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Food is good - the wine waiter is awful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were only interested in a light meal and a glass of wine but we felt that our whole evening was compromised by the overbearing wine waiter. He was very snearing and rude when he thought we didnt want to spend much on our wine and kept trying to push us into buying a bottle - even though not everyone at the table wanted to drink. I notice from other Trip adviser comments other people have found him unpleasant as well - so it want just us!!!!

Despite the wine waiter - the food was really good. The onion soup was rich and delicious and cheesey and the salads and dessert were really scrumptious.

So if you decide to go - I would say - dont drink any wine and just enjoy the food :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal we've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I went here on New Year's Eve. This was probably the best meal that we've ever had. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted better than you could possibly imagine. The service was excellent as well. I'd highly recommend this to anyone looking for an outstanding French restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scallops to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tried the Scallops and Veal combination. To die for! Added a great wine with the help of our waiter. Wonderful meal. Will go again the next time we go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.