We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the hype.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar

Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar
Mission Street, (SW Between Ocean & 7th), Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-7880
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: European, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Ave. and 7th
Description: Proprietors Andre Lemaire and Elizabeth Ketler want to share a Carmel favorite that lures locals and visitors with its chic style and neighborhood charm. Chef Andre Lemaire prepares authentic French Bistro Cuisine.The wine bar opens at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner will be served from 5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. nightly. Reservations are recommended at the restaurant, telephone 831-626-7880. We are open for lunch from 11:30 until 2:30 Wednesday through Sunday.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ate here in July '13. The food and the service were fantastic. Every course was delicious from appetizers to desert. Service was prompt and courteous and the atmosphere was pleasing. I would whole heartedly recommend eating here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    164
    45
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 54th wedding anniversay there for dinner. The 150-minute experience was wonderful, from the service to the intimate booth to the food. The owner spoke with us and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good but now quite 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our evening at this well regarded Carmel french style restaurant was very enjoyable. We shared a quite satisfactory heirloom tomato salad with Buffalo mozzarella cheese and pesto sauce. My guest had the scallops which were superb and I had the somewhat cloying lamb shank covered with a too sweet maple syrup sauce. The window table enhanced the romanticism of this cozy place, and the service was fantastic with one exception: the sommelier seemed more bent on steering customers to the most expensive wine selections rather than those which paired best with the food. This place is not inexpensive ($140 for one appetizer, two entrees, and 3 glasses of wine, tax and tip included) but expected given the quality, notoriety, and locale of this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the best meals in CaliFornia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just returned from two weeks in California and rank Andrea's as one of our best meals. The wine selection is plentiful with selections in all price ranges. The open kitchen and quaint atmosphere only enhance the ambience of AB. Service is crisp and the wait staff very accommodating. The food was fresh and beautifully presented. I must point out the incredible desert, a warm apple tart with cinnamon ice cream having a Carmel drizzle.....forget the calories, it's the best desert we've ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Consistently great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We eat at Bouchée frequently. Last night (Sunday) we went for the Bastiile Day special. $40 for a 3-course prefixe--great deal! There were 3 choices each for appetizer and main; 2 choices for dessert. All 3 of us were enormously pleased with our selections. I've had branzino here twice and both times it was light, tender, and flavorful. One of us had duck; it got raves. The service at Bouchée is always friendly and attentive. The sommelier is extremely helpful; he steered us to some great Pinots the last few times we were there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andre's Bouchee Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.