We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of Mundaka

San Carlos Street between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-7400
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Ocean Ave & 7th Ave
Transit: Monterey Peninsula Transit Bus Stop is located right out front on the sidewalk.
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    98
    40
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Mundaka
See the most recent reviews
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is on San Carlos in downtown Carmel. However, it's set back off the street with no particular views. In fact, we had the last table facing the window actually looked into a super tight alley (2 feet) that had empty wine bottles standing.

The restaurant is pretty casual, even by Carmel standards. Anything nice than jeans or shorts and you would feel out of place.

The menu is highly unique and each dish was enjoyable. Our favorites were the bacon wrapped figs and the sliced zuccini with almonds. The food came out a bit quick that seemsed to result in not savoring each plate as much as we would have otherwise done.

They show some movies up on the wall w/o sound.

The waitress appeared to be Spanish, very pretty and quite nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Bites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here one night and loved it. All of our tapas were divine. Our drinks were really great. I had the white sangria and think of it still. Our service was phenomenal as well. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious and Unique - Comida Buena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stopped in with my wife based on reviews for a brief overnight stay in Monterey. We made a reservation the night before and we showed up and were quickly seated. Its a little hard to find (behind liquor store), but in a cool little outdoor plaza. The waiter was very gregarious and professional but things got pretty busy and he got side tracked later in the night. The food was amazing. We ordered the Spanish fried peppers (not on menu). Looking like a fired jalapeño and tasting like a very mild hatch, they were served with a bit of salt...simple and delicious. Perfect with the bottle of Sangria we ordered. Now, I don't really like rice, and am lukewarm on Paella, but i have to agree with other reviewers - this was amazing. While we were stuffed, we still ordered the Cauliflower roasted with Gruyere. While we were stuffed, we ate that too and it was also excellent. Altogether a great experience, probably one of the best dinners i have had. And all for around $100!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Come for a drink and snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I went with friends for a celebratory dinner at Mundaka after checking out reviews here on Tripadvisor. Quality of food and atmosphere were both excellent. We're avid tapas fans, and expect small portions. However, these portions are quite small. 5 plates, 1 meat tray, and 2 desserts later, we were all still hungry. Because the quality is so good, and the drinks are fantastic, I'd suggest going for drinks and "snacking" vs. going on an empty stomach :) The atmosphere and service are great as well. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
“Fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ecellent service, the only thing I disliked was the people smoking out front of the restaurant, smoking in front of a place that people are trying to enjoy their meal is extremely tacky!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundaka also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Mundaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.