We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mundaka

Mundaka
San Carlos Street between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mundaka is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Ocean Ave & 7th Ave
Transit: Monterey Peninsula Transit Bus Stop is located right out front on the sidewalk.
Description: Mundaka is a Spanish style tapas restaurant in downtown Carmel, CA. It is the result of great friendships, a love of food and wine and music, and a long term romance with Spain and its culture. Open in March 2009, Mundaka continues to evolve daily with the creations of our chef Brandon Miller, and the musical musings of all our talented contributors. Mundaka aspires to be the hub for all that is tasty, fun, artistic, creative, and cultural in Carmel-by-the-sea. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is on San Carlos in downtown Carmel. However, it's set back off the street with no particular views. In fact, we had the last table facing the window actually looked into a super tight alley (2 feet) that had empty wine bottles standing.

The restaurant is pretty casual, even by Carmel standards. Anything nice than jeans or shorts and you would feel out of place.

The menu is highly unique and each dish was enjoyable. Our favorites were the bacon wrapped figs and the sliced zuccini with almonds. The food came out a bit quick that seemsed to result in not savoring each plate as much as we would have otherwise done.

They show some movies up on the wall w/o sound.

The waitress appeared to be Spanish, very pretty and quite nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    107
    47
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Bites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here one night and loved it. All of our tapas were divine. Our drinks were really great. I had the white sangria and think of it still. Our service was phenomenal as well. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious and Unique - Comida Buena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stopped in with my wife based on reviews for a brief overnight stay in Monterey. We made a reservation the night before and we showed up and were quickly seated. Its a little hard to find (behind liquor store), but in a cool little outdoor plaza. The waiter was very gregarious and professional but things got pretty busy and he got side tracked later in the night. The food was amazing. We ordered the Spanish fried peppers (not on menu). Looking like a fired jalapeño and tasting like a very mild hatch, they were served with a bit of salt...simple and delicious. Perfect with the bottle of Sangria we ordered. Now, I don't really like rice, and am lukewarm on Paella, but i have to agree with other reviewers - this was amazing. While we were stuffed, we still ordered the Cauliflower roasted with Gruyere. While we were stuffed, we ate that too and it was also excellent. Altogether a great experience, probably one of the best dinners i have had. And all for around $100!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Come for a drink and snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I went with friends for a celebratory dinner at Mundaka after checking out reviews here on Tripadvisor. Quality of food and atmosphere were both excellent. We're avid tapas fans, and expect small portions. However, these portions are quite small. 5 plates, 1 meat tray, and 2 desserts later, we were all still hungry. Because the quality is so good, and the drinks are fantastic, I'd suggest going for drinks and "snacking" vs. going on an empty stomach :) The atmosphere and service are great as well. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
“Fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ecellent service, the only thing I disliked was the people smoking out front of the restaurant, smoking in front of a place that people are trying to enjoy their meal is extremely tacky!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundaka also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Mundaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;