We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Little Bites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mundaka

Mundaka
San Carlos Street between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mundaka is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Ocean Ave & 7th Ave
Transit: Monterey Peninsula Transit Bus Stop is located right out front on the sidewalk.
Description: Mundaka is a Spanish style tapas restaurant in downtown Carmel, CA. It is the result of great friendships, a love of food and wine and music, and a long term romance with Spain and its culture. Open in March 2009, Mundaka continues to evolve daily with the creations of our chef Brandon Miller, and the musical musings of all our talented contributors. Mundaka aspires to be the hub for all that is tasty, fun, artistic, creative, and cultural in Carmel-by-the-sea. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Bites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here one night and loved it. All of our tapas were divine. Our drinks were really great. I had the white sangria and think of it still. Our service was phenomenal as well. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    101
    46
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious and Unique - Comida Buena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stopped in with my wife based on reviews for a brief overnight stay in Monterey. We made a reservation the night before and we showed up and were quickly seated. Its a little hard to find (behind liquor store), but in a cool little outdoor plaza. The waiter was very gregarious and professional but things got pretty busy and he got side tracked later in the night. The food was amazing. We ordered the Spanish fried peppers (not on menu). Looking like a fired jalapeño and tasting like a very mild hatch, they were served with a bit of salt...simple and delicious. Perfect with the bottle of Sangria we ordered. Now, I don't really like rice, and am lukewarm on Paella, but i have to agree with other reviewers - this was amazing. While we were stuffed, we still ordered the Cauliflower roasted with Gruyere. While we were stuffed, we ate that too and it was also excellent. Altogether a great experience, probably one of the best dinners i have had. And all for around $100!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Come for a drink and snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I went with friends for a celebratory dinner at Mundaka after checking out reviews here on Tripadvisor. Quality of food and atmosphere were both excellent. We're avid tapas fans, and expect small portions. However, these portions are quite small. 5 plates, 1 meat tray, and 2 desserts later, we were all still hungry. Because the quality is so good, and the drinks are fantastic, I'd suggest going for drinks and "snacking" vs. going on an empty stomach :) The atmosphere and service are great as well. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
“Fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ecellent service, the only thing I disliked was the people smoking out front of the restaurant, smoking in front of a place that people are trying to enjoy their meal is extremely tacky!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We read the menu beside the and decided to give it a try.

Outstanding cocktails and a very fresh tasting sangria were enjoyed on this rare warm Carmel evening.

We shared 7 plates among the 3 of us, our 10 year old daughter loved everything, if your kids are willing to experiment from normal kids fare this restaurant is perfect for families. The white anchovies are wonderful along with the fried garbonzos.

I am mystified by comments that the food is expensive because that is untrue. 2 adults and a 10 yr old ate for under $60 (not including booze) no where else can you enjoy fresh usual ingredients for that price.

My only complaint.....the music was more like new age night club music. Throw that CD in the garbage....please.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundaka also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Mundaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.