We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mundaka

Mundaka
San Carlos Street between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mundaka is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Ocean Ave & 7th Ave
Transit: Monterey Peninsula Transit Bus Stop is located right out front on the sidewalk.
Description: Mundaka is a Spanish style tapas restaurant in downtown Carmel, CA. It is the result of great friendships, a love of food and wine and music, and a long term romance with Spain and its culture. Open in March 2009, Mundaka continues to evolve daily with the creations of our chef Brandon Miller, and the musical musings of all our talented contributors. Mundaka aspires to be the hub for all that is tasty, fun, artistic, creative, and cultural in Carmel-by-the-sea. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We read the menu beside the and decided to give it a try.

Outstanding cocktails and a very fresh tasting sangria were enjoyed on this rare warm Carmel evening.

We shared 7 plates among the 3 of us, our 10 year old daughter loved everything, if your kids are willing to experiment from normal kids fare this restaurant is perfect for families. The white anchovies are wonderful along with the fried garbonzos.

I am mystified by comments that the food is expensive because that is untrue. 2 adults and a 10 yr old ate for under $60 (not including booze) no where else can you enjoy fresh usual ingredients for that price.

My only complaint.....the music was more like new age night club music. Throw that CD in the garbage....please.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    53
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just went in with four for a late lunch. Only about ten tapas on the menu but the eight or so we tried were all excellent, served with panache by the friendly cook, and at one huge table in a adjacent section from the night location. So you could schmooze with your neighbors, which was fun. The pricing came out to about $15 each, which wasn't bad for Carmel. You will need to take cash, as they weren't doing credit cards, at least for lunch. This was an interesting set of dishes, not your usual fare, so go in and take a chance on something different. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This was a very enjoyable dinner, I would definitely go back. The almonds and garbanzos were delicious, the duck comfit outstanding, and the clams extremely tasty (be sure to drink the sauce). A tad on the pricey side but it IS Carmel, and to people who complain about serving size, it IS tapas. Good wine list and the movie was a nice highlight, especially when dining solo. Thanks for a great meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm not sure what all the hype is. The reviews are great but food simply isn't. I found the meals pretty average in general. One thing to note is don't order the cheese plate, it's $20 for a few shavings, no bread.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Foodies...go here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Awesome small plates with phenomenal quality and flavor. Order two at at time so you can taste your way along and gradually determine when you get full.

2 must haves are the Gazpacho which was even better than my wife's and I never thought that would be possible. Lamb sliders were amazing (order two because you won't want to share them with each other).

Definatley go for the house wine at $5 per glass. Don't be fooled by the cheap price. We spent a month in tuscany last year and compared to all the delicious house wines we drank along the way.

(Don't bother with the smoked salmon as they are more like deep fried cheese sticks however.

Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundaka also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Mundaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.