We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Tapas - great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mundaka

Mundaka
San Carlos Street between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mundaka is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Ocean Ave & 7th Ave
Transit: Monterey Peninsula Transit Bus Stop is located right out front on the sidewalk.
Description: Mundaka is a Spanish style tapas restaurant in downtown Carmel, CA. It is the result of great friendships, a love of food and wine and music, and a long term romance with Spain and its culture. Open in March 2009, Mundaka continues to evolve daily with the creations of our chef Brandon Miller, and the musical musings of all our talented contributors. Mundaka aspires to be the hub for all that is tasty, fun, artistic, creative, and cultural in Carmel-by-the-sea. We look forward to seeing you soon.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cracking Tapas - great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Really excellent and great value tapas - not to mention a stocking cocktail to start. Staff are young, keen and professional and I felt very comfortable eating on my own, although it seems like a great place for both couples and large groups. Carmel is pretty quiet and thesis one of the few places that stays open later and is also conveniently located next to an equally friendly bar.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    55
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rip off totally overpriced. 13.50 for four tiny clams. Do not go.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Overpriced for very small portions. Very limited menu. $13.50 for 4 little clamps. What a joke. Do not go there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Tapas and Organic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Love this place for atmosphere, quality organic food and music. Locals and tourist should all visit here often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bring your earplugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

On the plus side - the food was tasty and our server was friendly.
The noise level got too much for holding any kind of normal conversation. The prices were up there, especially considering that you got mostly two bites of every dish. The sangria was offered at $6 but we ended up being charged double, which the sever omitted to point out, since it was white versus red.
Would not go back !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Mundaka. We liked the decor and overall atmosphere of the place. They had movies without the sound projected on the walls which we thought was quite cool. One thing that in our opinion didn't work was the DJ. First of all the bar area is quite small and when it got busy it did feel like customers just having a drink were taking over the dining area a bit, knocking your chair etc and the DJ could up quite a bit of space. When the DJ came to set up his decks he had to bring all of his equipment through a busy bar and restaurant- why not get him to set up before service as to not disrupt your customers? Also the music was loud dance/trance music. Too loud for a restaurant! You shouldn't have to shout at your partner over dinner to have a conversation.

The food was really great. A nice mix of traditional tapas dishes and some more unusual dishes such as duck leg confit, bacon and leek purée and mini lamb burger, pickled cauliflower, truffle fries, both of which were delicious.

We felt the service let Mundaka down a little bit. After we had been seated we had to wait ages to order food. Our waitress took our drinks order but then disappeared for about 15 minutes. We heard the tables either side of us also complaining that they had asked for the bill a while ago. Eventually the hostess noticed us all looking around for our waitress and within a few minutes she appeared. We were there on a busy Saturday evening and we wouldn't have minded so much if we'd seen our waitress rushing around serving other customers but she literally disappeared! When we did see our waitress she was very friendly. We also had to ask for a dish to be removed from the bill because it never arrived- we had assumed the waitress had forgotten to order it and we're quite full which is why we didn't ask for it again during the meal.

Overall a very good experience and most importantly delicious food. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundaka also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Mundaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.