We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your earplugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mundaka

Mundaka
San Carlos Street between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mundaka is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Ocean Ave & 7th Ave
Transit: Monterey Peninsula Transit Bus Stop is located right out front on the sidewalk.
Description: Mundaka is a Spanish style tapas restaurant in downtown Carmel, CA. It is the result of great friendships, a love of food and wine and music, and a long term romance with Spain and its culture. Open in March 2009, Mundaka continues to evolve daily with the creations of our chef Brandon Miller, and the musical musings of all our talented contributors. Mundaka aspires to be the hub for all that is tasty, fun, artistic, creative, and cultural in Carmel-by-the-sea. We look forward to seeing you soon.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bring your earplugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

On the plus side - the food was tasty and our server was friendly.
The noise level got too much for holding any kind of normal conversation. The prices were up there, especially considering that you got mostly two bites of every dish. The sangria was offered at $6 but we ended up being charged double, which the sever omitted to point out, since it was white versus red.
Would not go back !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    51
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Mundaka. We liked the decor and overall atmosphere of the place. They had movies without the sound projected on the walls which we thought was quite cool. One thing that in our opinion didn't work was the DJ. First of all the bar area is quite small and when it got busy it did feel like customers just having a drink were taking over the dining area a bit, knocking your chair etc and the DJ could up quite a bit of space. When the DJ came to set up his decks he had to bring all of his equipment through a busy bar and restaurant- why not get him to set up before service as to not disrupt your customers? Also the music was loud dance/trance music. Too loud for a restaurant! You shouldn't have to shout at your partner over dinner to have a conversation.

The food was really great. A nice mix of traditional tapas dishes and some more unusual dishes such as duck leg confit, bacon and leek purée and mini lamb burger, pickled cauliflower, truffle fries, both of which were delicious.

We felt the service let Mundaka down a little bit. After we had been seated we had to wait ages to order food. Our waitress took our drinks order but then disappeared for about 15 minutes. We heard the tables either side of us also complaining that they had asked for the bill a while ago. Eventually the hostess noticed us all looking around for our waitress and within a few minutes she appeared. We were there on a busy Saturday evening and we wouldn't have minded so much if we'd seen our waitress rushing around serving other customers but she literally disappeared! When we did see our waitress she was very friendly. We also had to ask for a dish to be removed from the bill because it never arrived- we had assumed the waitress had forgotten to order it and we're quite full which is why we didn't ask for it again during the meal.

Overall a very good experience and most importantly delicious food. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Don't go with unadventurous diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were here back in April and a native Carmel resident recommended so we went. The place was super busy and loud. Service was slow but I'm sure it was because it was so busy that night. Our server was nice when we did see her. We weren't crazy about the sangria but maybe it's because Im not a fan of that kind of taste. LOVED the bacon wrapped dates! I love to be an adventurous diner and would have enjoyed this place better solo or with a friend who enjoys trying new and different foods. The hubby didn't enjoy Mundaka.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I must preface this review by admitting that we were in Monterey with friends whose son had gone to school with the owner of Mundaka, so maybe we were treated a bit better than the average diner, but the food remains the food no matter who you are and our total experience was just fabulous. The room isn't awfully big and the decor isn't classy, The movies running on the wall were entertaining. The tapas were beautifully prepared, attractively served and totally delicious, We overdid it a bit ...... Garbanzos, Ceviche, Anchoves, Potato Bravas, followed by what I truly believe was the best Paella I've ever had. Sorry I can't remember the name of the wine our host chose for us. I do know that we consumed two bottles of it (served in tumblers) and it was a really nice Spanish white. We also consumed a bit of Sangria. (My wife did the driving back to the hotel). To sum it up - great food, funky decor. If I lived in Carmel I'd be a "regular". A bit pricy, but we're from the Napa Valley so we're used to that. By the way, the place is in the back part of a group of stores and not easy to find. Don't give up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“pace yourself and make THEM pace the meal and this is a great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I like ambiance and thought the room was a dump - when your idea of decor is peeling paint on wainscotting you need a new vision - on the other hand my wife liked the room - (that may explain the colour of a couch in our living room.) They do have one fun concept - oddball movies being played on a wall without sound. The food IS very good. Unfortunately we came on a slow night when the kitchen wasn't busy. We ordered 6 dishes between the two of us and our waiter brought them out almost all at once. That is not how to serve tapas. It killed the meal, which is a shame because the food was good. I particularly liked the lamb burger. It came with a mountain of shoe-string fries and would have been a meal all by itself for $7.50. We went back simply for dessert on a weekend night and the place was hopping. Given the mound of fries with the lamb burger ordering any further potato dishe was unnecessary. What else? - silly tumblers instead of proper wine glasses but their plonk was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundaka also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Mundaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.