We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, variable service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mundaka

Mundaka
San Carlos Street between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mundaka is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Ocean Ave & 7th Ave
Transit: Monterey Peninsula Transit Bus Stop is located right out front on the sidewalk.
Description: Mundaka is a Spanish style tapas restaurant in downtown Carmel, CA. It is the result of great friendships, a love of food and wine and music, and a long term romance with Spain and its culture. Open in March 2009, Mundaka continues to evolve daily with the creations of our chef Brandon Miller, and the musical musings of all our talented contributors. Mundaka aspires to be the hub for all that is tasty, fun, artistic, creative, and cultural in Carmel-by-the-sea. We look forward to seeing you soon.
monterey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, variable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is by far the best option in pricy Carmel if you are into tapas, spanish flavors, paellas and all that goes with it. We had two substantial tapas and the duck on our last visit. We like some adventure in food so tried some of the tapas that you won't see often. Some of the more obscure choices in hot Tapas include the Coliflor, which is sort of a mixed cauliflower with gruyere chees and horseradish. Another unusual tapa option is the almond/bacon/dates/cheese dish.

Excellent food but in our two visits, we found that the service was a bit variable. It seems to depend on who you get for a server. If they could fix that issue, it would be a five star.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    53
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A definite must if you enjoy tapas or want to experience tapas in a laid back setting. The food was fabulous, as was the service. The staff worked together to serve the tables. It was really nice to chat with them all...especially Kyle.

The wine list was mostly Spanish with some California selections and it was all very reasonably priced. For food, we started with the fried garbanzo beans as we reviewed the menu. Who knew that you could fry these beans and that they would be so good?! We will be trying this at home. Next was the duck confit with potatoes, arugula and orange. The flavors worked well together and the duck was amazing. Next was the cauliflower gratin ...loved it. Not overly cheesy and the hint of horseradish was nice. The final course was chorizo meatballs with clams and saffron couscous. My husband loved this dish. I'm not hugely into saffron so I thought it was good, not great.

We loved the atmosphere, the servers and the food. Highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The food was good but the prices for some f the dishes absurd. If you choose the cheese, you pay 19$ for 9 see through thin petite slices!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Romantic Foodie Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had not made reservations for the evening and checked several restaurants in the area but decided upon Mundaka. There was no immediate table available but the host offered us a free drink at the bar if we would wait for a table to open up. It was a great atmosphere of live Flamenco guitar music and wonderful smelling food. Our table was ready within 10 minutes. Robert was our waiter and he was quick to make suggestions and get us on track for the evening. We started with Datiles which were awesome but make sure to take a bite of the arugula with them. Lubina, white seabass was amazing! Cordero(thin cut lamb t-bones) Robert told us to eat with our fingers and you must! You wouldn't want to leave a bite. The last tapas of the night was chosen by Robert as a surprise to us. . .Albondigas (chorizo meatballs, clams, saffron couscous) which was served with a delicious Spanish red wine. It was excellent! I highly recommend making reservations and enjoying an evening at Mundaka. And don't forget to ask for Robert. But the entire staff is friendly and energetic to help make your meal the best ever.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great, great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

So glad we tried this great little restaurant. Fantastic and friendly service and equally great tapas. Cauliflower, baked mozzarella, and duck confit tapas were all great. This was the first day of our 30 day visit to Carmel and we will definitely be returning before we leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundaka also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Mundaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.