We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brophy's Tavern

Brophy's Tavern
4th and San Carlos, Carmel, CA 93922
(831) 624-2476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 148 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

One of the better meals we had in Carmel, even though it was one of the simplest and least expensive. A good place to eat dinner or grab a beer while watching sports on TV.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A good atmosphere and food - very enjoyable and right across the road from our hotel - friendly staff - good quality food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“TACO TUESDAY....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Get there by 4:00 pm on Tuesday for the $1.00 tacos.. Holy cow they are great.. Calamari, French fries, I'm in heaven....get there too late and no tacos for you they sell out quick!!! I never miss when I'm in Carmel....a definate winner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great find for those who don't want a tourist place to eat...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is that proverbial place in travelling that you find where the locals eat. Great bar, super service, and down home food at good prices!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pub is upscale and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Sitting alone at the bar is unusual for me, but I felt welcome and at ease. I enjoyed a cup of clam chowder (complete with bacon) and "basket" of fries that came with bbq sauce and ranch dressing. The glass of wine pour was generous. If you have children, I did see a family enjoying dinner. Though, there were a few guys at the bar who shared some colorful language. All in all, this is a great place. I'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brophy's Tavern also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Brophy's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brophy's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.