We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yep, great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A.W. Shucks

A.W. Shucks
Carmel, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 93 things to do in Carmel
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular local pub.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yep, great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having arrived late in the evening after traveling all day, we wandered around Carmel looking for a place for a meal. We didn't want the formality that was on offer at most places in town and then we happened on this place, lovely, informal atmosphere and great drinks. We stopped for a drink and stayed for a meal. Food was very good quality and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall it was a fantastic experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We found AW Shuck last time we were in Carmel and returned again this time while visiting. If you like oysters and seafood this is a must. We had oysters, fish tacos and chowder soup. Absolutely delicious. Wonderful service, great food, fun place. The owner is delightful, the place is spotless. High on our list to return to next time we are in Carmel.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Fantastic oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Although it had great presentation, I was not impressed with the bloody Mary. Just a bit too spicy for me. But the oysters were FANTASTIC. We also had the crab cakes and Caesar salad which were also very good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
1 review
“Great afternoon with great friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food and drinks where great! The oysters were excellent. Would definitely return! The service was good and the drinks were priced well!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best oysters in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We sat at the bar for some pre-dinner oysters and drinks. Best oysters in town. We were so pleased with our impromptu happy hour! So good!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A.W. Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A.W. Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A.W. Shucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.