We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tasting room in downtown Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galante Vineyards

Galante Vineyards
Dolores St Between Ocean Ave & 7th St, Carmel, CA 93921
831-624-3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 121 Attractions in Carmel
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest rose-grower in the state is also a notable winery.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice tasting room in downtown Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A nice, friendly tasting room in downtown Carmel. We visited on a Sunday afternoon. There were a couple of other small groups but it wasn't overly busy. The pourer was very friendly and knowledgeable. Galante Vineyards focus on red wines- we particularly liked the Kick A$% Cab (trip advisor will not allow me to post the actual name because it is considered a profanity...) and the Double M (a malbec & merlot blend). The tasting cost $10 for 5 wines and we also got a free taste of the sauvignon blanc which wasn't on the tasting list. We would definitely recommend if you are wine tasting in downtown Carmel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Red wines at a cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We wondered in. Wine tasting is $10 for six pours. The have one white mostly reds. Run about $25 and higher a bottle. Staff was friendly and gave us an extra tasting of a wine not on the list. Tasting and bottles higher than we are used to but a nice experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wine from Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There is a tasting room for Galante Vineyards located in downtown Carmel, which we found in our search for a present for our daughter. We arrived after two sets of group tasters were leaving, so we got a lot of attention. I did not wnat to do any wine tasting, but still wanted to determine if the wine was any good. She was very helpful and provided tastes. They do not have a good white, but their reds are stand-out. The one we chose (a light read -- 1328 Rancho 2009) is definitely one for someone learning about the finer points of good wine (not cheap!).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“In the wine club!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I've been drinking their wine for 10 years. It's difficult to get their wine in MA, so we work the system. I've not had a bad bottle from them. Our favorite is the Blackjack Pasture itch a close second being the Double M. Today, we were at the Wing Gang barbecue and had tasty food paired with excellent wine.

Regarding the poor review, you need to learn patience. When places are busy, you might need to wait. Remember, it's not all about you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“totally inhospitable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We walked into the wine tasting room in Carmel on a Saturday afternoon expecting to taste some wine and maybe walk away with a bottle or two. There were about 3 groups up at the bar with wine already in hand. The pourer/host never acknowledge us or welcomed us in, even though he clearly saw us. After a few minutes of looking of around the store, we walked out. The guy pouring the wine behind the bar never said a word to us and none of the people at the bar ever moved out of the way to let us in. I just find it extremely rude that the people already tasting never made room for us nor did the host ever even try to get us a taste. We usually end up walking away with a bottle of wine whenever we get a tasting. This business clearly lost a sale. Carmel wine tasting seems just as pretentious as some of those in Napa Valley.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galante Vineyards also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Galante Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galante Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.