We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Right balance of comfort, hospitality and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Svendsgaard's Inn to your Saves list
Svendsgaard's Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just the Right balance of comfort, hospitality and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were able to book the Inn at the last minute and we were set up in a great room with a fireplace and hot tub on the first floor. We brought our small dog on the trip and never got the feeling that our room was specifically allotted to the "guests with pets" only. We were pleasantly surprised by the morning breakfast cooler left by our door which was filled with enough yummy food to cover us until lunch time. I would definitely recommend Svendsgaard's Inn to travelers looking for good value for their dollar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mscottmckinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Northern California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We've stayed here three times, and each stay was very pleasant. They're dog friendly, and have a nice grassy area to take your dog, with all the cleanup supplies & trash can furnished. Although an older property, the room is very large, spotless, comes with a fireplace. and you're only 3 blocks from the main drag in Carmel. They also drop off a nice continental breakfast at your doorstep every morning. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you're bringing your dog, I'd ask for a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dononlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice, for two nights back in 2012 and again for two nights this past March 2014. We went for our anniversary each time. We picked the king suite with the 2 person jacuzzi tub and fireplace. It was amazing both times. They deliver a small cooler with a pint of milk and the individual cereals, fresh fruit, muffins, croissants, orange juice, etc straight to your door every morning. They had fresh baked cookies in the lobby as well as some amazing water with fresh oranges in it. The garden is beautiful in the spring, staff is friendly and attentive. They had mediocre linens when we stayed in 2012, but their bedding and pillows were fabulous this time. We didn't want to leave the bed! The only other place I actually like the beds is at Marriott because they have their own custom beds that are super comfy. But this was just as nice. They're located close enough to everything that we didn't use our car the entire time. I even was able to walk to dinner in heels. It's a close enough walk to the beach, but I have fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome so it kind of wiped me out, although it was nothing for my hubby. Fortunately there are a lot of benches between the beach and Svengaards. We stayed in a different hotel a different year for a wedding and it made me love this one even more.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alciedalcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for just one night, but after staying would have liked to stay one more. The staff was very welcoming and the room was super comfortable, with a nice fireplace and a breakfast area + kitchenette which was separated from the bedroom.
They drop-off your breakfast in thermal bags. Very practical.
Would come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AixM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We love it here, nice big rooms with things we love...fireplaces and tubs...pups love the big lawn and the pool is very Nice. Very accommodating ..we have been here many times and have plans to return

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Losgatosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a friend's place of choice when in Carmel. It's located within walking distance of downtown shopping and restaurants. Most amenities were consistent with our prior stay: lobby refreshments, on site parking, breakfast basket and paper in the morning. Updates include, keurig coffee maker, terry lined robes, new bedding covers.

Room Tip: Pet allowed rooms are at ground level and pet free rooms are on the second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I took my wife to the Svengaard Inn for her birthday Superbowl weekend. We really enjoyed our stay. We have a small dog and the hotel is very pet friendly. The location is awesome. Breakfast on the door step was convenient.There is so much stuff to do within a block or two of the hotel. The staff was super nice. The only issue we had was that I slipped and fell on the brick stair way when we were walking to the parking lot to load up my car. I broke my tail bone and and was in significant discomfort for almost two months. They should deffinatly put a sign up for that so someone doesn't suffer a greater injury. I would give it a 5 if it wasnt for that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candle Light Inn
Candle Light Inn
#13 of 28 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 28 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing