We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay but beware of super slippery stairs wet!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Save Saved
You added Svendsgaard's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome stay but beware of super slippery stairs wet!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I took my wife to the Svengaard Inn for her birthday Superbowl weekend. We really enjoyed our stay. We have a small dog and the hotel is very pet friendly. The location is awesome. Breakfast on the door step was convenient.There is so much stuff to do within a block or two of the hotel. The staff was super nice. The only issue we had was that I slipped and fell on the brick stair way when we were walking to the parking lot to load up my car. I broke my tail bone and and was in significant discomfort for almost two months. They should deffinatly put a sign up for that so someone doesn't suffer a greater injury. I would give it a 5 if it wasnt for that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    79
    31
    14
    2
See reviews for
48
122
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Whether a girl's weekend or with partner or family, this Inn is always our first choice. Location, location! The grounds are well groomed and the small pool is very clean. Staff is knowledgeable and very friendly. The rooms are incredibly clean, the beds have white cotton duvet covers, not some old smelly bedspread that someone else has been using! Lobby offers coffee, tea, water during the day and cookies in the afternoon. Room price comes with a continental breakfast that is more than I can eat so I put some items in my backpack before we take off for a hike! Breakfast comes with cream for coffee (Keurig in room), milk, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, and a pastry. The Inn is across the street from Brophy's Tavern, a sport's bar, that offers great burgers, fish & shrimp tacos and more. Walking distance to Ocean Avenue and to most of downtown Carmel. Dog friendly.

Room Tip: Room 21 is very convenient and accessible for those who can't walk steps. High beam ceilings, ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

a triple winner clean Jacuzzi and fireplace like close to restaurant and shop and feel safe
garden is good for pets, worth it if come off months, free parking.My husband wants to return. free internet

Room Tip: go off peak months
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Great location, dog friendly...well maintained...we loved our stay we booked two rooms for our family trip. We had 4 adults and 4 dogs and had the best time. Great garden area for the dogs to stretch their legs. I would definitely return. Walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I expected more from this property considering how much we paid to stay here. We selected it because of it's great location in Carmel, and because they are dog friendly. The property looks like a motel, and the "heated" pool was cold. The room we stayed in was small and nothing special. The bed was very uncomfortable and we did not sleep well on it over the 2 nights we stayed here. They did bring breakfast to your room in the morning which was a nice touch. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We only spent one night here and we were very comfortable. The front desk was very helpful and the cookies were great! Everything was within a short walk so no need to drive anywhere. They bring you a nice little breakfast to your door in the morning. Really enjoyed our night there

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here only one night on our drive back from San Francisco. On our drive up, we also spent a night in Carmel, but at a different inn.
Now this place is not bad, but there are places that are better for the same price. It felt cold and sterile and lacked the warmth and charm of so many other inns that are all over Carmel.
When I booked the room, I chose the inn because they were dog friendly. I was not sure if we were going to bring our dog or not, but just in case, I wanted to stay at a place that would allow him. As soon as we checked in, they handed us a paper to sign saying we did not have a dog with us. I thought that was very weird. Most dog friendly places simply ask if you are traveling with your pet, they didn't ask, just asked us to sign the paper.
Breakfast, was not appealing. We left it untouched in the cooler they left at our door.
There was nothing warm about the decor, the staff, the location, it was all very cold.
In addition to this, when I booked the room, they charged me for two nights and it took them a month to credit me in addition to me having to send them a copy of my billing statement like they didn't even believe they over charged me.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svendsgaard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.