We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Svendsgaard's Inn to your Saves list
Svendsgaard's Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We really like this place for its location, friendliness, and lovely property. This was our second stay. We feel comfortable here and love the fact that we can bring our dog! Nice room and pool area. A small lawn area is available, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    86
    32
    16
    2
See reviews for
56
130
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you vacation with your dog this is the place to stay. Ground floor rooms are near the grass area for dogs, very pretty and relaxing. The pool is inviting and and clean. We had the the suite with two rooms, two king sized beds, two tvs,fireplace, shower,tub, jacuzzi and kitchenette. A table, sink and small frig.
All that we needed. We actually used the fireplace and found it warmed the room very well.
We love to travel with our dogs and found Svendgaard's a few years ago and have been there twice and plan to return as often as we can. My beagle Kayla LOVED her king sized bed!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your pet ask for a room near the grass for those late night early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms are grand but I felt that they were damp - it was chilly and foggy when we were there and maybe that was why - the rooms are large and the bed is comfortable - friendly staff and a nice fire in the lobby with coffee, tea, cookies and fruit available. Brophys is very good across the road. We had a nice stay - the breakfast is a bit sparse as some one else stated but it is ok - at least you don't have to get up for it as it is delivered to the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peronnas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a deluxe suite king bed. We were at the first level. The room was large but a little dark. We had a 2 persons Jacuzzi in a large space and a bathroom with a tub. The room was clean (except under the bed). The breakfast ( brought in front of the door) was a little frugal. It was rather quiet and the rooms are not close to the street. The wifi was working okay.The garden had a lot of flowers. We didn't use the pool. It was a good stay but nothing unforgettable. As the rate of the room is rather high, maybe the breakfast could be ameliorated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family has stayed at this charming hotel 6 times in the last 5 years. I have done a bit of research and would not consider staying anywhere else in Carmel. Short walks to shopping, beach, and restaurants, we never use the car unless we go to the Aquarium in Monterey which is 12 minutes away. It is the only hotel I know of that still double sheets their blankets and pillows. The adult staff is always professional and helpful. We do not bring a pet, though we find the animal guests charming and amazingly quiet and well behaved. If you sign up for mail, they will alert you to special deals such as half off room rates and dinner vouchers. Not the newest or freshly remodeled, but always clean and well cared for, charming in the old fashioned touches such as dutch doors on all of the rooms. The breakfast they drop outside your door with the newspaper is giant and includes for each guest fruit, cereal, baked goods, juice, and milk. They've just got new in room coffee makers with the capsules that make it super easy to have a fresh brewed coffee whenever you want it. We have never had one bad experience at Svendsgaard's, and will be back.

Room Tip: kitchenette available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Inn was within walking distance to town and was very quaint, quiet and comfortable. It was nice to have on site parking and never had a problem finding a space. The breakfast provided was a nice touch and very convenient, as it was brought to the room in a thermal box each morning.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The Inn is a very charming place to stay and we will stay there again if back in the area.

Room Tip: We were in an upstairs, back corner room. It was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well located hotel where you can do everything walking. Nice and polite staff.. Large parking place outside and functional front desk with water and cookies available as a compliment. City maps promptly provided. They also offer a nice breakfast leaving a box right at your door every morning. Pet friendly place. And a small pool available. The rooms are average ok. Nothing special but honest. I stayed in a room with two queen beds, with wife and two daughters. Beds seemed a little bit small, so if you are large and tall you might consider another place. The bathroom is also ok. Clean and the towels were in good condition. Shower working well. In general, it is a good value hotel and recomended, specially for its central position.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svendsgaard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.