We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Save Saved
You added Svendsgaard's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
northern ireland
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms are grand but I felt that they were damp - it was chilly and foggy when we were there and maybe that was why - the rooms are large and the bed is comfortable - friendly staff and a nice fire in the lobby with coffee, tea, cookies and fruit available. Brophys is very good across the road. We had a nice stay - the breakfast is a bit sparse as some one else stated but it is ok - at least you don't have to get up for it as it is delivered to the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    73
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
47
117
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peronnas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a deluxe suite king bed. We were at the first level. The room was large but a little dark. We had a 2 persons Jacuzzi in a large space and a bathroom with a tub. The room was clean (except under the bed). The breakfast ( brought in front of the door) was a little frugal. It was rather quiet and the rooms are not close to the street. The wifi was working okay.The garden had a lot of flowers. We didn't use the pool. It was a good stay but nothing unforgettable. As the rate of the room is rather high, maybe the breakfast could be ameliorated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family has stayed at this charming hotel 6 times in the last 5 years. I have done a bit of research and would not consider staying anywhere else in Carmel. Short walks to shopping, beach, and restaurants, we never use the car unless we go to the Aquarium in Monterey which is 12 minutes away. It is the only hotel I know of that still double sheets their blankets and pillows. The adult staff is always professional and helpful. We do not bring a pet, though we find the animal guests charming and amazingly quiet and well behaved. If you sign up for mail, they will alert you to special deals such as half off room rates and dinner vouchers. Not the newest or freshly remodeled, but always clean and well cared for, charming in the old fashioned touches such as dutch doors on all of the rooms. The breakfast they drop outside your door with the newspaper is giant and includes for each guest fruit, cereal, baked goods, juice, and milk. They've just got new in room coffee makers with the capsules that make it super easy to have a fresh brewed coffee whenever you want it. We have never had one bad experience at Svendsgaard's, and will be back.

Room Tip: kitchenette available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Inn was within walking distance to town and was very quaint, quiet and comfortable. It was nice to have on site parking and never had a problem finding a space. The breakfast provided was a nice touch and very convenient, as it was brought to the room in a thermal box each morning.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The Inn is a very charming place to stay and we will stay there again if back in the area.

Room Tip: We were in an upstairs, back corner room. It was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well located hotel where you can do everything walking. Nice and polite staff.. Large parking place outside and functional front desk with water and cookies available as a compliment. City maps promptly provided. They also offer a nice breakfast leaving a box right at your door every morning. Pet friendly place. And a small pool available. The rooms are average ok. Nothing special but honest. I stayed in a room with two queen beds, with wife and two daughters. Beds seemed a little bit small, so if you are large and tall you might consider another place. The bathroom is also ok. Clean and the towels were in good condition. Shower working well. In general, it is a good value hotel and recomended, specially for its central position.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is downtown- just far enough off Ocean Drive to not be too hectic, yet definitely close enough to feel like you're still in the action. The staff is extremely friendly (we asked to borrow a wine bottle opener and they gave us a free souvenir one to keep) and we were surprised at how charming the property is. Free continental breakfast is delivered to your door every morning between 7:30-8am. The reception area has a fireplace with couches, free coffee, cookies, and water. The rooms were clean and well cared for. Free parking and wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We selected Svendsgaard's Inn by chance but I never regret it. It has an European flavor, right out of Grimm Brothers tales. I assume that it is preferred by Scandinavian visitors because I found guests speaking Swedish. It is a boutique B&B, with rooms surrounding a beautiful garden and it does have a small pool. It is located quite close to upper middle Main Street, where most restaurants are, but it is in one of the quieter areas, right under the woods. Flowers everywhere like in Switzerland. On the same street there are few more inns, some quite nice, but only Svendsgaard's Inn had the No Vacancy sign. There are few local features. The air conditioning is .... a split door, the upper portion can open independently! Second is the breakfast basket delivered quietly at your door early morning. My only regret.... I was there for one night only. A whole week in Carmel, back at Svendsgaard's Inn, it is in the planning. It is not cheap but a good value in the expensive Carmel. The WiFi is a little bit flaky but good enough for emails.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svendsgaard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.