We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Club Atmosphere with a View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgar's - Quail Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Edgar's - Quail Lodge
8000 Valley Greens Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9515
831-620-8910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Edgar's - Quail Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Carmel Valley Road
Transit: Public Transit Stops about 1/2 mile away.
Merced, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Country Club Atmosphere with a View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice Bar, you can watch golf on various TV's or look out at the driving range of the golf course. Not recommended as a destination restaurant but good following a round of golf. We stayed at the newly re-opened Quail Lodge whose restaurant is not yet fully remodeled. We called two weeks in advance to Edgar's and scheduled dinner reservations for 8:00 pm as we were wanting to shower and dress after a day of golf. Edgar's called early on the day of our reservation and advised that the kitchen closed at 8:00 pm so if we wanted food we should arrive early. We would have made other reservations had we known sooner. When we arrived at Edgar's we noted that there were very few selections to choose from for dinner. The Sand Dabs are battered lightly and very good. Golfers are walking through the dinning area on their way to the bathroom so do not expect a quiet private meal. Bar is very nice. Make this a place for an after golf snack or beer but with the restaurants in the area that are so much better plan your meal elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Have a Good Lunch, But Skip the Strawberry Margaritas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This club house type modern restaurant overlooks the golf course at the Quail Lodge. We had a very nice lunch here during the Quail Motorcycle Gathering, which takes place once each year on the golf course next to the restaurant. Our lunch was pretty good as far as the food goes, I had one of the better hamburgers I've ever eaten, and the clam chowder was very good, too. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the strawberry margaritas, which were just awful and practically undrinkable. Get rid of those barely sweet, frothy, pink colored foam things in the tiny glasses and get someone in there who really knows how to make a good one, and business is bound to pick up from where it was when we were there. My top shelf was pretty good, although also served in a tiny glass that contained about 1/3 of the drink you'd expect for the price. There's a nice double sided fireplace, and the view of the course from the outdoor patio is pretty good, too. The service was attentive and we did leave the waiter a substantial tip for his efforts. We probably should have sent the strawberry drink back, but we have a personal policy of never returning food or drink to any restaurant kitchen or bar. If it's really that bad, it isn't likely to improve with another round of the same.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Club-style food overlooking the golf course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good selection of appetizers and salads. The entree menu is fairly spare, but I had the braised spare ribs and the entire dish was very tasty, with fresh roasted veggies. My husband enjoyed his nacho's and burger very much. Highly recommend the crab cake--all crab, no filler--but the mango sauce was super sugary.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

we sat on the terrace...the views were awesome, the fireplace was great, the fodd and service were outstanding....loved the flatbreads and the sand dab club! Eazter brunch on Sunday was great...the mango bellini was top notch!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They don't honor opentable reservations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food was not bad, although, service was not great and very slow. They are kid friendly and the prices reasonable. It's a typical golf club restaurant, What really upset me was the fact they canceled my reservation on Opentable.com after I checked in with the host. I only realized when I received an email after my dinner stating that my reservation had been canceled. After calling twice and speaking with the manager, Tim, he said there was noting he cold do and I would have to deal with opentable.com.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar's - Quail Lodge also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Edgar's - Quail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgar's - Quail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.