We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanes inspired, fresh, creative, delious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel

Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel
Monte Verde & 7th Ave., Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-8578
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 7th
Description: Executive Chef Justin Cogley's and Executive Pastry Chef Ron Mendoza's cooking philosophy is built first and foremost on spontaneity. With access to an array of outstanding local products as well as ingredients and artisan purveyors from around the world, Cogley and Mendoza focus on incorporating these elements into their ever-changing menus.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Japanes inspired, fresh, creative, delious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you not going to spurge for the tasting menu then go another time. We also splurged for the premium wine pairing which was amazing, special and ones we had never had before that went perfectly with the food. Everything was cooked perfectly except the scallop dish which was overcooked. The desert was a nice surprise, beets, horseradish and chocolate.

If you are considering the hotel I would say the following words cute, cozy but dirty...too bad would be a perfect pairing as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    13
    4
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is one restaurant you either love or hate it, for this basic reason there is no leftover to doggy bag the food and you may have to find a late snack if you are a big eater. As most of the restaurant clientele are Americans, this place should restyle their food proportion. If you are looking for a big value meal, please visit Andree Bouchée. For us we love Aubergines. The service was excellent. The food, presentation, proportion and quality was great. We chose the degustation menu ($125) and brought our own Bergstrom wine and paid the $30 corkage charge. The only feedback I would give is that the owners or chef should kept its roots either totally French or totally American French versus presenting French-Japanese ingredients, to bring the costs down. The 4 guests sitting besides us must had a rude shock when their bill came, was not sure whether he heard the wait staff informing him the special for the night, top grade marbled japanese beef at $35 per oz... Can you imagine 4oz (113g) Japanese beef costing us$140, to most Americans this would be outrageous and the portion tiny for a person but this is the cost of importing top grade Japanese beef. That's why this restaurant has several unhappy campers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Never again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We got the 10 course sampler dinner. As someone who has built over 1,000 restaurants, I can honestly say this one left me speechless. Every course had new silverware, each dish was about two bites. Strawberrys with tomatoes iced on the same plate for dessert. Terrible. My scallop was raw and the bed of seaweed it was on was real seaweed with the pungent aroma of the ocean that almost made me vomit. Service was wonderful but I really have to wonder about this meal. I so wanted to get out of there, we were there two and one half hours. Five hundred dollars for two with no alcohol. Worst meal of my life. We did stay in the hotel for a week and that experience was wonderful. The complimentary breakfast was nice to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel exceeded our expectations at all dimensions! A perfect balance of ambiance, food (exciting flavors at every turn), wine, and service to complement our dinner on a special occasion! The opportunity to meet with chef Justin Cogley in the kitchen capped our evening off as we closed the restaurant down! Felt like family!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very special birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from an amazing dinner at Aubergine. We were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday, and Aubergine proved to be the perfect choice. The restaurant itself is very inviting and elegant. The service was impeccable - extremely professional yet friendly and unpretentious.

As to the food - simply amazing. One dish after another (we had the 4 course meal) we were delighted by the combination of flavors and the food presentation. The chef did his best to work around our dietary restrictions, and it certainly worked very well.

To finish off - the staff did their best to add their personal touch and
ensure my boyfriend has a great birthday. I won't list the endearing gestures, but there were quite a few. They were certainly successful: It was definitely one of the best meals we have ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.