We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but not memorable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel

Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel
Monte Verde & 7th Ave., Carmel, CA 93921
+1 831-624-8578
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 7th
Description: Executive Chef Justin Cogley's and Executive Pastry Chef Ron Mendoza's cooking philosophy is built first and foremost on spontaneity. With access to an array of outstanding local products as well as ingredients and artisan purveyors from around the world, Cogley and Mendoza focus on incorporating these elements into their ever-changing menus.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting but not memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We tried the chef tasting menu and came away disappointed. The presentation and service was first rate, but the flavors did not quite click for us. Maybe it was an off night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    11
    4
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Understated elegant interior, attentive service and ingenious chef's menu at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The chef's menu descries only the ingredients included but not exactly what the eight courses will be, we chose that and the only decision was whether we wish to add the real Kobe beef. Will not spoil the fun by listing each course that evening but suffice to say every one of them was very delicious with surprising ingredients providing a real delight to the palate. (An exception that was the scallop, rather ordinary but that may not be on the menu every night.) Extensive wine list with smart choices of wine pairing. After eight courses, not counting sorbet and other treats, a happy sensation without feeling filled. Service is attentive with well mannered and informed staff but the pace is a bit fast. You feel a tad rushed, two seatings with only eight to ten tables requires some hurrying but that takes some class out of the set up. The cost is $125 per person, very reasonable in Carmel but the Kobe beef adds another $64 each. Service is added automatically, out of the customer's control, May be that is why they don't mind rushing guests. Overall a pleasant experience and would return when in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Magical dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is amazing!! So much attention to detail. We did the larger tasting menu with wine pairings. It was extravagant but worth it, a once in a lifetime dining experience. My boyfriend doesn't like seafood and they customized the menu based on our likes and dislikes. A great place for a special occassion!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A found treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary in Auberge. What a great choice! hubby earned points for picking the place. We had a wonderful time...from the friendly and thoughtful staff, excellent service and to the yummy creative food. We had the four course dinner, but with all the added extras it actually totaled 9 courses. I am amazed at the quality of food and service, comparable to San Francisco. Will definitely return here. Highly recommended.

I had the following:
1: Dungeness crab with rose water - crab was perfectly cooked and sweet. Went well with the rose water.

2: Abalone with sea grapes - I've never had sea grapes. Very creative use. I felt like I was tasting the ocean!

3: Lobster with curry - plain delicious.

** Cheese course (extra $20) - one order was enough for both of us.

4: Pear, celeriac mousse - Celery with your dessert! But it worked.

They have a sense of humor, too. At the end of the meal, they presented us with a platter of “rocks and pebbles”. Some were real, but there were 2 sweets mixed in. Fortunately they hanged around to make sure we picked correctly.

We live in Santa Cruz, and it is good to know that we have this place to visit.

Thank you for a special dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had the 8 course meal with 2 friends. Plenty of food - all in little bites. Each course was a new treat for our taste buds. The restaurant goes out of it's way to make sure they don't include anything the diner doesn't eat/like/or has an allergy to - and plans for this ahead of time. Wonderful cocktails too! Love this restaurant, we'll be back!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aubergine at L'Auberge Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.