We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food, slow service, stuffy surroundings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's on Lincoln

Christopher's on Lincoln
Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's on Lincoln is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 150 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: One of Carmel's newest and most exciting dining experience is Christopher's on Lincoln. Award winning chef/owner Christopher J. Caul has transformed one of the village's oldest restaurant locations into a modern, fun, and friendly dinner house. Dress is Carmel casual and the attitude laid back and contemporary, so guests feel comfortable in everything from shorts to suits. Charming and affable, Christopher's cuisine is sublime. Christopher's 30 years of experience as well as his three former restaurants have culminated in a menu that showcases the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients the Central Coast has to offer. Christopher's wine list features mostly Monterey County wines, as well as his favorites from around the state. Christopher's also features a full bar with some of the finest handcrafted spirits available. Christopher is right where he loves to be; come say hello soon!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Solid food, slow service, stuffy surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The food is at least interesting but solid at best. Portions are massive and the wine list is good, especially by the glass. Most disappointing was the waiting service. Slow, got our orders wrong and didn't really know the menu as they should. Better places to go in Carmel and should do better.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    41
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere , good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Our last night in Carmel for dinner before heading back to Fl. Very nice atmosphere, Son and I tried the braised spare ribs, wives had fish and salmon plate. All dinners served hot and prepared well, I would say the salmon was probably the best meal. Our braised ribs were good, but not what I would expect from a high end restaurant. Almost seemed like they were cooked in a "crock pot " ? Meat dallying off the bone, had a bar b que taste . Atmosphere, and wine menu is excellent, would try again, but Order different entrée.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Strong Cuisine, But Questions Re Management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We chose Christopher’s based on a recommendation of friends, and confirmed by the restaurant's many favorable reviews on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed our first visit so much that we returned two nights later for more. In short, we liked every dish we ate, though, as mentioned later, we later began to question if everything was right in the restaurant’s management.

Christopher’s is a romantic restaurant with separate spaces that create a more intimate atmosphere. Except for a table of loud party goers the first night, the restaurant was very quiet, perhaps due to its being less than half full each night in the middle of the week. The first night we shared a flavor-filled, green bean, beet, walnut and chevre salad to start ($11). For entrees, we chose an excellent, pan-seared Muscovy duck breast ($24) and a tasty, seared salmon piccata ($24.50).

On our second visit, we shared a smoked salmon salad appetizer ($12), followed by entrees consisting of a seared Idaho trout ($24) and a pan-seared pork chop ($24 on the menu but $28 on the bill). All entrees came with a small portion of scrumptious crispy red creamers or garlic mashed potatoes and vegetables. With a couple of glasses of a very solid California Pinot Noir ($10), our final tab, including tip and tax, was about $110.

The staff was friendly, attentive, and eager, but several seemed to be new to the restaurant or part-timers. Curiously, when leaving we noticed a $4.00 discrepancy between the pork chop’s price on the restaurant’s table menu ($24) and the $28 amount that the restaurant actually charged to our bill. When questioned, the waiter seemed surprised and suggested that we call Christopher (the chef-owner who was not working that night) the next day to discuss it (which we didn’t bother to do).

We were impressed that the kitchen crew had turned out very good food without hands-on management present. Final note: There is a significant difference between the dishes listed, and the pricing shown, on Christopher’s “Sample Menu” on its website and the actual dishes and pricing in the restaurant; and actual restaurant prices are often about 10 - 15% higher than the prices shown on Christopher’s internet “Sample Menu.” In any event, we hope that Christopher’s can straighten out these management issues before it affects what otherwise could potentially be an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Romantic Restaurant in the Heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Christopher's on Lincoln last Saturday. My wife is a major foodie and we both absolutely loved our dinners. She started with the Cornmeal Crusted Spicy Chili Relleno which was excellent. A really nice heat and great flavor. I had the Tequila & Lime House-Cured Salmon. It was all good except I had my taste buds set for smoked salmon instead of cured salmon. It was topped with an amazing crispy potato cake and arugula. For our main course my wife had the Braised New Zealand Lamb Shank. We are both lamb lovers and this was a very large and perfectly cooked shank. I had a special of the evening, Chicken Cordon Bleu. It was absolutely amazing and I hope it stays on the menu for you! We did bring our own bottle of wine to celebrate with and there was no corkage. We did have some nice martinis from their bartender to start us off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old fashined, disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We read the good reviews and the basic setting was very nice, the interior is old fashioned formal, and the food was very ordinary and over priced for the quality. Service was efficient but indifferent., the servers did their job but there was zero interaction with us. there are more attractive and lively restaurants in Carmel with better food for the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's on Lincoln also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Christopher's on Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher's on Lincoln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.