We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Restaurant in the Heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's on Lincoln

Christopher's on Lincoln
Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's on Lincoln is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: One of Carmel's newest and most exciting dining experience is Christopher's on Lincoln. Award winning chef/owner Christopher J. Caul has transformed one of the village's oldest restaurant locations into a modern, fun, and friendly dinner house. Dress is Carmel casual and the attitude laid back and contemporary, so guests feel comfortable in everything from shorts to suits. Charming and affable, Christopher's cuisine is sublime. Christopher's 30 years of experience as well as his three former restaurants have culminated in a menu that showcases the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients the Central Coast has to offer. Christopher's wine list features mostly Monterey County wines, as well as his favorites from around the state. Christopher's also features a full bar with some of the finest handcrafted spirits available. Christopher is right where he loves to be; come say hello soon!
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Romantic Restaurant in the Heart of Carmel-By-The-Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Christopher's on Lincoln last Saturday. My wife is a major foodie and we both absolutely loved our dinners. She started with the Cornmeal Crusted Spicy Chili Relleno which was excellent. A really nice heat and great flavor. I had the Tequila & Lime House-Cured Salmon. It was all good except I had my taste buds set for smoked salmon instead of cured salmon. It was topped with an amazing crispy potato cake and arugula. For our main course my wife had the Braised New Zealand Lamb Shank. We are both lamb lovers and this was a very large and perfectly cooked shank. I had a special of the evening, Chicken Cordon Bleu. It was absolutely amazing and I hope it stays on the menu for you! We did bring our own bottle of wine to celebrate with and there was no corkage. We did have some nice martinis from their bartender to start us off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    42
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old fashined, disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We read the good reviews and the basic setting was very nice, the interior is old fashioned formal, and the food was very ordinary and over priced for the quality. Service was efficient but indifferent., the servers did their job but there was zero interaction with us. there are more attractive and lively restaurants in Carmel with better food for the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The dining room is elegant and comfortable and the food is skillfully prepared, but not outrageously expensive. The short ribs were probably the best I've ever had - moist, tender and flavourful. We ate at several restaurants in the Carmel/Monterey area and this was the best meal of our trip. TIP: Christopher's is one of the restaurants that will waive corkage if you bring in a bottle of wine purchased at "A Taste of Monterey", the wonderful tasting room on Cannery Row (in the long building next to Bubba Gump's) which features a wide assortment of Monterey regional wines and a great view of the bay. Make sure that there is a sticker on the back of the bottle and pick up a brochure that lists all of the area restaurants in this programme.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slightly off the beaten path in downtown Carmel ...Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

On LIncoln between 5th and 6th, we heard about this restaurant through Miraflores Winery, a lovely Winery in El Dorado County California. The mushroom soup was the best we have had anywhere. We also had the seasonal mushroom appetizer (Chantrelles) on a bed of creamy polenta, For main course I had the Cornmeal crusted trout which was delicately sweet, fresh and zero bones! Hubby had the halibut, again perfectly fresh and well cooked in a bed of fresh vegetables and broth.
Having dined at many places in Carmel, we will put this one on the 'must revisit' list for our twice annual treks here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat in Carmel be the Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel as serving good honest meals using fresh ingredients all sourced locally. I had the salmon and was not disappointed. The servings were generous and the staff attentive. The restaurant is housed in a quaint timber cottage overlooking an beautiful courtyard lit with fairy lights at night.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's on Lincoln also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Christopher's on Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher's on Lincoln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.