We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly off the beaten path in downtown Carmel ...Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's on Lincoln

Christopher's on Lincoln
Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's on Lincoln is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: One of Carmel's newest and most exciting dining experience is Christopher's on Lincoln. Award winning chef/owner Christopher J. Caul has transformed one of the village's oldest restaurant locations into a modern, fun, and friendly dinner house. Dress is Carmel casual and the attitude laid back and contemporary, so guests feel comfortable in everything from shorts to suits. Charming and affable, Christopher's cuisine is sublime. Christopher's 30 years of experience as well as his three former restaurants have culminated in a menu that showcases the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients the Central Coast has to offer. Christopher's wine list features mostly Monterey County wines, as well as his favorites from around the state. Christopher's also features a full bar with some of the finest handcrafted spirits available. Christopher is right where he loves to be; come say hello soon!
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slightly off the beaten path in downtown Carmel ...Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

On LIncoln between 5th and 6th, we heard about this restaurant through Miraflores Winery, a lovely Winery in El Dorado County California. The mushroom soup was the best we have had anywhere. We also had the seasonal mushroom appetizer (Chantrelles) on a bed of creamy polenta, For main course I had the Cornmeal crusted trout which was delicately sweet, fresh and zero bones! Hubby had the halibut, again perfectly fresh and well cooked in a bed of fresh vegetables and broth.
Having dined at many places in Carmel, we will put this one on the 'must revisit' list for our twice annual treks here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    40
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat in Carmel be the Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel as serving good honest meals using fresh ingredients all sourced locally. I had the salmon and was not disappointed. The servings were generous and the staff attentive. The restaurant is housed in a quaint timber cottage overlooking an beautiful courtyard lit with fairy lights at night.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wow! American food at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

You simply must try Christopher's on Lincoln. Everything about this little restaurant is cool,and magic all in one. I wish this restaurant was on my home street. All of this and at a sensible price!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, wy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Christopher's for the first time a few years ago. It was so good we booked it for the following night as well.
We just visited Carmel again and went back to Christopher's again and it continues to be great. The oyster bisque was superb as was the Muscovy duck breast. Others had an heirloom tomato salad, salmon with a lentil sauce and the short ribs al of which were said to be very good. Small wine list, mostly regionals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bravo Christopher's on Lincoln”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visited this little gem of a restaurant early Monday evening. Our meals were well prepared, ingredients were excellently executed into a superb meal. The salmon picatta was perfect, and my husband had the sea bass. We also tried the beef carpaccio for an appetizer along with the chile-relleno stuffed pepper with risotto.
The 'Groupon' gave us the opportunity to try several different things from the menu, including a cocktail to start and desserts. A nice bottle of a local local white wine made our dinner that much more special. We will definitely come back!
Kudos to the wait staff at Christophers, they were excellent and attentive without being over-bearing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's on Lincoln also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Christopher's on Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher's on Lincoln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;