We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Event” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher's on Lincoln

Christopher's on Lincoln
Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831-626-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher's on Lincoln is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 153 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: One of Carmel's newest and most exciting dining experience is Christopher's on Lincoln. Award winning chef/owner Christopher J. Caul has transformed one of the village's oldest restaurant locations into a modern, fun, and friendly dinner house. Dress is Carmel casual and the attitude laid back and contemporary, so guests feel comfortable in everything from shorts to suits. Charming and affable, Christopher's cuisine is sublime. Christopher's 30 years of experience as well as his three former restaurants have culminated in a menu that showcases the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients the Central Coast has to offer. Christopher's wine list features mostly Monterey County wines, as well as his favorites from around the state. Christopher's also features a full bar with some of the finest handcrafted spirits available. Christopher is right where he loves to be; come say hello soon!
FRESNO
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Private Event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

About fifty us attended a private dinner at Christopher's and although it was noisy with all fifty people engaged in conversation the restaurant did a great job. The staff and owners were very attentive, friendly and provided excellent service especially considering that we were all seated and served at the same time. I had the salmon with lemon-butter and it proved to be an excellent choice. Several in our group got the few shortrib entrees that were available and they loved it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    76
    39
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing experience! Don't use groupon here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are local. My next door neighbor and I decided to purchase a Groupon to use at Christopher's because we had heard good reviews about the place and wanted to check it out. The 4 of us sat down at 6:30 and didn't walk out until 9:40!....3 hours! This is not a Michelin 3-star restaurant!!!! Our waiter was inattentive and overall service was slow. Patrons near us sat down after us and left before us, which led us to believe that maybe it was the fact that we were using a groupon and had already paid, so we could be 2nd fiddle to the other customers.

As far as the food goes, it was average at best. The chile relleno and carpaccio appetizers were good, the clams with sausage were ok. The mixed green salad had too much dressing, the Caesar salad was warm and wilted and the dressing....I've tasted better out of a bottle. The mushroom soup was good. The pork chop was good, the swordfish overcooked, the sauce on the beef ribs too sweet, the lamb shank was good, but too salty. For dessert, I chose a the mixed berry tart. It turned out to be a dried out puff pastry with a dollop of custard on top and a few berries dropped on it. What a disappointment! The server never asked us if we wanted any coffee.

Aside from the poor service, the clincher came when we were ordering our wine. Our Groupon entitled us to a Monterey County bottle of wine with value up to $45. We were told that the only wines that were available to us were the bottles of wine that were sold by the glass, which are inexpensive wines. There was only one Monterey County wine in this section, and it was an inexpensive white. The cabernet that I ordered was Grayson Cellars 2010, which retails in the $9-10 range. There were several Mo. Co. wines on the list that met the $45 value threshold that are very good, as I have had them before. This is business morality?

Based upon my experience, I can not recommend this place. There are too many good restaurants in this area that provide a level of service and food quality that you expect when you go out to dine

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Food, Noisy Dining Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a salmon special (grilled with balsamic glaze over lentils cooked with chard and bacon) and the filet. The food was very good, but the dining room was incredibly noisy due to the bar. The dining room was not packed, so I can only imagine how noisy it might be if it had been. Service was okay, not as bad as others have mentioned. The wines by the glass list was pretty limited, but the wines were interesting. The dining room is very pretty and the food was good, so it's too bad that this affects one's overall impression of the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I picked up a Groupon for this place, and checked reviews before purchasing. The reviews were good, so I figured we were OK. The Groupon was a great deal as well. We arrived and there's no hostess to seat you. There was ONE waiter for the ENTIRE place - poor guy was so frazzled and scattered. We were very patient and just rolled with it. The cocktails were good - but then the wine that went with the Groupon was pretty bad. The service was extremely slow - but again - there was truly just ONE waiter and ONE busser - so they were overwhelmed as the place filled up. The food was OK - nothing amazing - but generous portions. Got the wrong salad from what I ordered - but I was never checked on - so I just ate it. The bathroom is outside under a staircase - feels a bit like having to hike to a camping outhouse. There are so many super fine places to eat in Carmel, that this one is just not worth the price or hassle.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very, very good food, a bit bumpy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

There's not much to say: The food was really outstanding (lamp shank, Crapaggio, salad and Chicken breast ), the prices absolutely fair and restaurant a really nice place, even though very very loud since it was totally packed. The people were literally screaming at each other!
The service was a bumpy, made it up with friendlyness and politeness.
So the food was definetely worth the small minud points.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher's on Lincoln also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Christopher's on Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher's on Lincoln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.