We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very dog friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach

Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach
Ocean Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
831 649 2836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 97 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Sunbathing, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The carmel beach is one of the world's most beautiful beaches and is a great place to let your dog run free. At one end is Pebble Beach golf course and it is an easy climb up to see both the 9th and 10th holes. Dolphins were visible in the ocean when we were there in the morning.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    204
    24
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hands down best beach in Cali! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Everything from the sand to the views of Pebble Beach this is the best beach in California. My family and I love to have picnics and have our dogs and kids run around. Note: if your dog does not play nice with others DO NOT bring them!!!!

A lot of us locals hanging out and enjoying where we live. You can also have bone fires at certain spots.

ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
194 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The softest sand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had been traveling the Pacific Coast highway all the way from the tip of Washington and this sand was ultra-soft. We had a nice stroll along the beach in the early morning. Others were out, but it wasn't too crowded. The skies were overcast, but our moods light as we listened to the waves and viewed Carmel and the Pebble Beach golf course.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous - must do the Scenic Road drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A must see in Carmel, the beach is pristine with soft white sand and beautiful coastline view. We saw dolphins around sunset! Parking in the late afternoon/evening was not a problem. Highly reccommend driving down Scenic Road which is a one-way street starting at the beach parking lot. The homes on this road are like little storybook houses, amazing architecture with gorgeous setting. The best of Carmel is right there on the coast!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, nice sand good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We lucked out and got a parking spot right near the rest room practically on the beach. We tried to boogie board but the waves were not fabulous. We prefer the rougher surf at Marina beach with my 10 and 13 year old boys. But good for swimming and young kids as long as you keep an eye on them. But the beach was clean and dogs were allowed off leash. Looked at shells. etc.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.