We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach

Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach
Ocean Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
831 649 2836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Attractions in Carmel
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

As East Coasters, we are enthralled by the northern California coast. Carmel City Beach is spectacular. I've been to Carmel in March and December and while neither are bikini weather (thank goodness!), the beach is always breathtaking -- even in the fog. The Monterey pine trees that provide a canopy of shade near the entrance to the beach are spectacular. Then, a short walk away, you're on the edge of Pebble Beach. In the opposite direction, you come to Point Lobos. And Carmelites have the most interesting dogs that they walk on the beach. It's like a sandy version of the Westminster Dog Show.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    143
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A California beach like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The stunning views of Pebble Beach, the splashing waves crashing against the ocean rocks, the golden sun reflecting the sunrise or the orange sky at sunset -- pick one or all, this beach is incredible.

If you are visiting Carmel -- try to stay near these beaches. There is a wonderful paved walkway along the beach if you are not into strolling in the sand. Well behaved dogs and neat campfires are permitted here. It's like a California dream of old. For those of us who grew up in California, this is how we'd like to remember it. Gorgeous scenery, quiet, casual atmosphere, no street vendors.

Carmel River Beach is near the mission and Carmel City Beach nearer to the city. You'll never want to leave this magical place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sand in your toes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

There are many beautiful beaches in the world but the Carmel beach is something special. Walk the length from the Pebble Beach golf course to the Mission Ranch beach and you will not only work up a good appitite but you'll also breath some of the freshest sea air.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Life is Good...in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My son and I drove the PCH from LA to SF. We stopped off in Carmel to stay overnight. We stayed in town and spent New Year's Day walking the beach. Wow. It is SO nice in Carmel. Gorgeous area and a great vibe. And, like others have mentioned, a town that is doggy heaven!
The Main Street has so many fun shops to stroll past and linger in, and walking past some of the adorable homes made me want to stay in town longer. I would live in Carmel any day. It is nice there! We went out to the famous Carmel Valley Ranch for dinner and sunset. Super nice and relaxing time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Doggie Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Carmel City Beach is like no other beach we've ever been to. It's a breeze of a walk down hill (leaving is another story) and well-behaved dogs are welcome to go off leash and enjoy the beach. Through the hazy day we had, it honestly looked as though it were Dog Heaven on Earth (if there is such a place).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.