We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A California beach like no other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach

Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach
Ocean Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
831 649 2836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 102 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The water is brisk and the surf is hazardous, but the amazing views from the shore will draw you like a magnet to these striking white sand beaches for a leisurely stroll or picnic.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A California beach like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The stunning views of Pebble Beach, the splashing waves crashing against the ocean rocks, the golden sun reflecting the sunrise or the orange sky at sunset -- pick one or all, this beach is incredible.

If you are visiting Carmel -- try to stay near these beaches. There is a wonderful paved walkway along the beach if you are not into strolling in the sand. Well behaved dogs and neat campfires are permitted here. It's like a California dream of old. For those of us who grew up in California, this is how we'd like to remember it. Gorgeous scenery, quiet, casual atmosphere, no street vendors.

Carmel River Beach is near the mission and Carmel City Beach nearer to the city. You'll never want to leave this magical place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ohiofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sacramento
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sand in your toes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

There are many beautiful beaches in the world but the Carmel beach is something special. Walk the length from the Pebble Beach golf course to the Mission Ranch beach and you will not only work up a good appitite but you'll also breath some of the freshest sea air.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NPC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Life is Good...in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My son and I drove the PCH from LA to SF. We stopped off in Carmel to stay overnight. We stayed in town and spent New Year's Day walking the beach. Wow. It is SO nice in Carmel. Gorgeous area and a great vibe. And, like others have mentioned, a town that is doggy heaven!
The Main Street has so many fun shops to stroll past and linger in, and walking past some of the adorable homes made me want to stay in town longer. I would live in Carmel any day. It is nice there! We went out to the famous Carmel Valley Ranch for dinner and sunset. Super nice and relaxing time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAK807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Doggie Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Carmel City Beach is like no other beach we've ever been to. It's a breeze of a walk down hill (leaving is another story) and well-behaved dogs are welcome to go off leash and enjoy the beach. Through the hazy day we had, it honestly looked as though it were Dog Heaven on Earth (if there is such a place).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“White clean sand and fresh air”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful way to start our weekend in Carmel. Arrived around sunset which is early in winter. Beautiful Friday weather and we decided to run down the dune like beach to waters edge. The smell of the surf was like no other. The sand is super fine pure white and feels so good between my toes. And you can walk to town!

Helpful?
Thank Coltonmgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Carmel City Beach / Carmel River Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing